Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
View All Scores

Semifinalists for Naismith Coach of the Year trophy announced

Karl-Anthony Towns, John Calipari

AP Photo


In addition to announcing its ten semifinalists for the Naismith Trophy, the Atlanta Tipoff Club revealed the fifteen semifinalists for the Naismith Men’s College Coach of the Year Award. Among the semifinalists are Kentucky head coach John Calipari, Virginia head coach Tony Bennett and Wisconsin head coach Bo Ryan.

Of the coaches on the list four have won the award in the past. Calipari won his first Naismith Coach of the Year award in 1996 when he was at UMass, with Bennett winning the honor in 2007 while he was at Washington State. Villanova head coach Jay Wright won the award in 2006, and Kansas’ Bill Self did so in 2012.

Five conferences have two representatives on the list: the ACC (Bennett and Notre Dame’s Mike Brey), Big 12 (Self and Baylor’s Scott Drew), Big East (Wright and Butler’s Chris Holtmann), Big Ten (Wisconsin’s Bo Ryan and Maryland’s Mark Turgeon) and the Pac-12 (Utah’s Larry Krystkowiak and Oregon State’s Wayne Tinkle).

Wichita State head coach Gregg Marshall won the award last season. Below is the full list of this year’s semifinalists, with the finalists to be revealed March 19. The winner will be announced Sunday, April 5.

Tony Bennett, Virginia Mike Brey, Notre Dame John Calipari, Kentucky Scott Drew, Baylor Mark Few, Gonzaga Chris Holtmann, Butler Ben Jacobson, Northern Iowa Larry Krystkowiak, Utah Archie Miller, Dayton Steve Prohm, Murray State Bo Ryan, Wisconsin Bill Self, Kansas Wayne Tinkle, Oregon State Mark Turgeon, Maryland Jay Wright, Villanova