Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Teams seeded ninth or lower that made the Final Four

From the Associated press - teams seeded ninth or lower that have advanced to the Final Four since 1979, when the NCAA began seeding all teams:

1979 - No. 9 Pennsylvania: lost to Michigan State in semifinals, lost to DePaul in third-place game
1986 - No. 11 LSU: lost to Louisville in semifinals
2006 - No. 11 George Mason: lost to Florida in semifinals
2011 - No. 11 Virginia Commonwealth: vs. Butler in semifinal, Saturday.