Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Watch list for Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award released

Skal Labissiere

Skal Labissiere


Throughout the week the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame has released lists of 20 candidate for each of its individual awards, including the Bob Cousy Award which is given to the nation’s top point guard. Friday morning the watch list for the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award, which is given to the top center in college basketball, were revealed.

Five freshmen made the cut, including Kentucky’s Skal Labissiere and Kansas’ Cheick Diallo. Joining those two are Indiana’s Thomas Bryant, Maryland’s Diamond Stone and UNLV’s Stephen Zimmerman. Last year’s winner was Wisconsin’s Frank Kaminsky, and like him the other four finalists (Arkansas’ Bobby Portis, Duke’s Jahlil Okafor, Kentucky’s Willie Cauley-Stein and Syracuse’s Rakeem Christmas) are now in the NBA.

Below is the full list of preseason candidates for the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award.

Kaleb Tarczewski, Arizona

Mamadou Ndiaye, UC Irvine

Josh Scott, Colorado

Egidijus Mockevicius, Evansville

Przemek Karnowski, Gonzaga

Thomas Bryant, Indiana

Jameel McKay, Iowa State

Cheick Diallo, Kansas

Skal Labissiere, Kentucky

Diamond Stone, Maryland

Stephen Zimmerman, UNLV

Kennedy Meeks, North Carolina

Zach Auguste, Notre Dame

AJ Hammons, Purdue

Jakob Poeltl, Utah

Damian Jones, Vanderbilt

Daniel Ochefu, Villanova

Josh Hawkinson, Washington State

Joel Bolomboy, Weber State

Devin Williams, West Virginia