Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Who made the preseason Naismith Trophy list?


The Naismith Trophy preseason watch list dropped yesterday, filled with familiar names for one of college hoops’ biggest awards. So what’s the big deal?

Unlike the Wooden Award, the Naismith doesn’t dis freshmen from the start.

That’s the biggest difference in the 50 players on the Naismith list compared to the one the Wooden folks released last month. Freshmen Harrison Barnes, Will Barton, Kyrie Irving, Perry Jones, Brandon Knight and Jared Sullinger all made the cut.

In all, there are 38 players on both lists. The upperclassmen who made the Naismith and not the Wooden include: Keith Benson (Oakland), Kenneth Faried (Morehead State), Charles Jenkins (Hofstra), Kevin Jones (West Virginia), Chandler Parsons (Florida), Chris Warren (Ole Miss) and Tyler Zeller (North Carolina).

In all, not a bad group of the guys. The complete list is below.

1.Lavoy Allen (Temple)
2.Kevin Anderson (Richmond)
3.Harrison Barnes (North Carolina)*
4.Will Barton (Memphis)*
5.Talor Battle (Penn State)
6.Keith Benson (Oakland)*
7.William Buford (Ohio State)
8.Alec Burks (Colorado)
9.Randy Culpepper (UTEP)
10.Malcolm Delaney (Virginia Tech)
11.Kim English (Missouri)
12.Kenneth Faried (Morehead State)*
13.Corey Fisher (Villanova)
14.Jimmer Fredette (BYU)
15.Austin Freeman (Georgetown)
16.Ashton Gibbs (Pittsburgh)
17.Elias Harris (Gonzaga)
18.Jeremy Hazell (Seton Hall)
19.Kyrie Irving (Duke)*
20.Charles Jenkins (Hofstra)*
21.JaJuan Johnson (Purdue)
22.Kevin Jones (West Virginia)*
23.Perry Jones (Baylor)*
24.Kris Joseph (Syracuse)
25.Brandon Knight (Kentucky)*
26.Kawhi Leonard (San Diego State)
27.Jon Leuer (Wisconsin)
28.Kalin Lucas (Michigan State)
29.Shelvin Mack (Butler)
30.Demetri McCarney (Illinois)
31.E’Twaun Moore (Purdue)
32.Marcus Morris (Kansas)
33.Chandler Parsons (Florida)*
34.Jacob Pullen (Kansas State)
35.Kyle Singler (Duke)
36.Chris Singleton (Florida State)
37.John Shurna (Northwestern)
38.Nolan Smith (Duke)
39.Jared Sullinger (Ohio State)*
40.Durrell Summers (Michigan State)
41.Jeff Taylor (Vanderbilt)
42.Isaiah Thomas (Washington)
43.Trey Thompkins (Georgia)
44.Klay Thompson (Washington State)
45.Kemba Walker (Connecticut)
46.Chris Warren (Ole Miss)*
47.Derrick Williams (Arizona)
48.Jordan Williams (Maryland)
49.Chris Wright (Dayton)
50.Tyler Zeller (North Carolina)*

Want more? @BeyndArcMMiller‘s also on Twitter. Click here for more.