Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Brian Kelly names five team captains for 2015 team

2015 Team Captains

The votes are in and Notre Dame’s football team will be captained by five players. Graduate students Matthias Farley, Nick Martin and Joe Schmidt will be joined by senior Sheldon Day and junior Jaylon Smith as the captains of the 2015 Irish.

It’s the first time since 2007 that the Irish have had five captains named. Both Martin and Day are returning captains, just the 20th and 21st players in the program’s history to hold that role twice. Last week, Brian Kelly mentioned that ten candidates were approved by the faculty board for the vote, a large group that says quite a bit about the leadership on this team.

We’ll dig more into this later, but for now, some quick reactions via social media: