Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Clausen and Tate are semifinalists for Maxwell Award

Both Jimmy Clausen and Golden Tate were among the 16 finalists for the Maxwell Award, annually giving to college football’s player of the year. Clausen is one of six quarterbacks on the list, while Tate is one of only two wide receivers.

Notre Dame and Texas are the only teams to have two players among the semifinalists. Quarterback Colt McCoy and wide receiver Jordan Shipley represent the Longhorns.

Three finalists will be announced later in November, with the winner announced during the Home Depot ESPN College Football Awards on December 10.

Here are the Maxwell Semifinalists:

Jahvid Best, California, RB, Jr

Jimmy Clausen, Notre Dame, QB, Jr

Noel Devine, West Virginia, RB, Jr

Toby Gerhart, Stanford, RB, Sr

Mark Ingram, Alabama, RB, So

Case Keenum, Houston, QB, Jr

Dan LeFevour, Central Michigan, QB, Sr

Dion Lewis, Pittsburgh, RB, Fr

Ryan Matthews, Fresno State, RB, Jr

Colt McCoy, Texas, QB, Sr

Kellen Moore, Boise State, QB, So

Christian Ponder, Florida State, QB, Jr

Jacquizz Rodgers, Oregon State, RB, So

Jordan Shipley, Texas, WR, Sr

Golden Tate, Notre Dame, WR, Jr

Tim Tebow, Florida, QB, Sr