Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Faxes in: Tuitt official, Niklas (too), Rabasa, and Atkinson

Stephon Tuitt

Of course even the faxing of Stephon Tuitt’s letter-of-intent would be dramatic. But the prized five-star defensive end’s commitment letter arrived in the football offices after weather delayed it, and both the Irish coaching staff and all of ND Nation can breathe easy knowing that the Irish have locked in their biggest defensive prospect on their board.

Tuitt’s news wasn’t the only theater of the morning, with Brian Kelly dropping in on Jack Nolan’s live broadcast at to report that Troy Niklas also faxed in his letter-of-intent, pulling a talented player out of a USC feeder school and a prospect to Notre Dame that the Trojans coveted. Kelly pointed out the work Mike Denbrock did getting Niklas to Notre Dame, reminding Irish fans that the tight ends coach serving his second tour of duty in South Bend is the only Irish coach recruiting California, while USC has seven coaches committed to the talent-rich state.

While defensive back Jalen Brown’s official fax has been delayed thanks to inclimate weather in Texas, it appears as though the recruiting class has been finalized, with only cornerback Bennett Okotcha’s 11th hour defection to Oklahoma qualifying as bad news.

“This is probably as exact to the plan of who we needed to get in this class and we got them,” Kelly said this morning as the faxes rolled in. “When you have a plan you’re going to stick to the plan.”

Here are the faxes that are in according to Notre Dame. Brian Kelly will make his formal address at 1:00 p.m.

Faxes recently received:

Josh Atkinson, DB, Livermore, California
Jalen Brown, DB, Irving, Texas
Troy Niklas, DE, Anaheim, California
Anthony Rabasa, OLB, Miami, Florida
Stephon Tuitt, DE, Monroe, Georgia

UPDATE -- 11:16 a.m. EST: Notre Dame confirms that the fax for Jalen Brown has been received.

Already received:

George Atkinson, WR, Livermore, California
Ben Councell
, OLB, Asheville, North Carolina
Davaris Daniels, WR, Vernon Hills, Illinois
Matthias Farley, DB, Charlotte, North Carolina
Jarrett Grace, LB, Cincinnati, Ohio
Conor Hanratty, OL, New Canaan, Connecticut
Eilar Hardy, DB, Pickerington, Ohio
Matthew Hegarty, OL, Aztec, New Mexico
Chase Hounshell, DE, Kirtland, Ohio
Ben Koyack, TE, Oil City, Pennsylvania
Nick Martin, OL, Indianapolis, Indiana
Cam McDaniel, RB, Coppell, Texas
Tony Springmann, DE, Fort Wayne, Indiana

Already enrolled:

Kyle Brindza, K/P, Canton, Michigan
Brad Carrico, DE, Dublin, Ohio
Everett Golson, QB, Myrtle Beach, SC
Aaron Lynch, DE, Cape Coral, FL
Ishaq Williams, DE, Brooklyn, NY