Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Florida State QB Jameis Winston named Walter Camp Player of the Year

Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston has been named the 2013 Walter Camp Player of the Year by the Walter Camp Foundation. Winston is the second Florida State player to win the award, joining former Seminoles quarterback Charlie Ward (1993).

“Jameis Winston has been the orchestrator of the most prolific offense in the nation this season,” Walter Camp Foundation president James Monico said in a statement. “His consistency and overall performance have been outstanding and we are pleased to recognize him.”

Winston beat out some of his fellow Heisman Trophy finalists for the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award. Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch, Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron, Boston College running back Andre Williams and Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel were all named finalists for the award along with Winston.

Ward went on to win the Heisman Trophy in 1993, and Winston appears to be the favorite for this year’s Heisman Trophy honor. The Walter Camp Award winner has not always been so fortunate though in more recent years. Auburn’s Cam Newton was the only player since 2007 to win the Walter Camp Award and Heisman Trophy in the same season (2010).

Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o won the Walter Camp Award in 2012, and Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck win in 2011.

Follow @KevinOnCFB