Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

NC State’s Bradley Chubb claims 2017 Nagurski Trophy

One of the top awards a college football player on the defensive side of the ball can earn will go to a deserving individual from the ACC.

The stewards of the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, the Charlotte Touchdown Club, announced at a ceremony Monday night that North Carolina State’s Bradley Chubb has been named as the recipient of its 2017 honor. The defensive end bested four other finalists for the trophy -- Alabama safety Minkah Fitzpatrick, Iowa middle linebacker Josey Jewell, Houston defensive tackle Ed Oliver and Georgia outside linebacker Roquan Smith.

The Nagurski Trophy, given out annually since 1993, is awarded to the nation’s best defensive player regardless of position. The 2016 winner was Alabama defensive end Jonathan Allen.