Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Tide dominates AP All-American team

A school-record six Alabama players were named to the Associated Pressfirst-team All-American squad, it was announced today.

Running back and Heisman winner Mark Ingram, linebacker Rolando McClain, defensive tackle Terrence Cody, guard Michael Johnson, cornerback Javier Arenas and kicker Leigh Tiffin were the members of the SEC champions who were honored.

Ingram was joined in the backfield by Heisman runner-up Toby Gerhart of Stanford. Both backs were unanimous selections.

McClain and Nebraska’s Ndamukong Suh were the only other unanimous selections.

Texas’ Colt McCoy was selected as the first-team quarterback, while Florida’s Tim Tebow was inexplicably named to the second-team offense.

The SEC lead all conferences with 11 first-team selections; the Big Ten had just one -- Michigan State linebacker Greg Jones.