Loading scores...
Kurt Busch
Getty Images
Look Ahead

2020 Daytona 500 in 55 days

by Anthony Ballantoni
Updated On: December 22, 2019, 5:26 pm ET

In his first season with Chip Ganassi Racing, Kurt Busch made the NASCAR CUP Playoffs for the seventh straight year. Here are some brief performance notes on Busch and some other drivers who finished in the top 20 in points for the NASCAR Cup Series, XFINITY Series and Gander Outdoors Truck Series. Since many teams are still firming up their 2020 plans, follow NASCAR Headlines and "Player" News on this page for the latest driver updates. With 55 days before the 2020 CUP season-opening Daytona 500, a tentative list of CUP Driver/Team lineups is shown below for all full-time teams that plan on entering every event.

                                       NASCAR Cup Series (CUP)

2019: Aric Almirola (Stewart-Haas Racing #10 Ford Mustang) - In 36 races, the Tampa, FL native scored 1 pole, 3 top-fives, 12 top-tens, had a 10.5 average start, a 15.4 average finish and led 180 laps. He made it into the season playoffs Round of 16 but was cut before the start of the Round of 12. He closed out the season 14th in the standings. His best CUP start was the pole at Atlanta (2/24) and best finish was 2nd at Texas (11/03). Almirola's last CUP victory was in the 1000Bulbs.com 500 at Talladega Superspeedway on October 14, 2018.
2020: Almirola is contracted through 2020. Smithfield will return as primary sponsor on the #10 Mustang for at least 25 races. During the off-season SHR swapped crew chiefs for the #10 and #14 teams. Clint Bowyer's #14 has Almirola's former crew chief John Klausmeier. Bowyer's crew chief Mike Bugarewicz will now lead Almirola's #10 team in 2020.
2019: Kurt Busch (Chip Ganassi Racing #1 Chevrolet Camaro) - In 36 races, the Las Vegas, NV native scored 1 victory, 6 top-fives, 18 top-tens, had a 12.7 average start, a 13.1 average finish and led 212 laps. He made it into the season playoffs Round of 16 but was cut before the start of the Round of 12. Busch closed out the season 13th in the standings. His best CUP season start was 2nd at Richmond (04/13) and his best finish was the win in the Quaker State 400 at Kentucky Speedway (07/13).
2020: Busch is contracted through at least 2021 to drive CGR's #1 Camaro. Matt McCall will continue as crew chief. Monster Energy will cover primary sponsorship for most of the 2020 events.

                             NASCAR XFINITY Series (NXS)

2019: Jeremy Clements (Jeremy Clements Racing #51 Chevrolet Camaro) - In 33 races, the Spartanburg, SC native scored 1 top-five, 4 top-tens, had a 15.7 average start, a 17.9 average finish, led 4 laps and closed out the season 14th in the standings. His best NXS season start was 5th and best finish was 4th, both at Bristol (08/16). Clements' last NXS victory was in the Johnsonville 180 on August 27, 2017 at the Road America road course in Elkhart Lake, WI.
2020: As team owner, Clements will be back full-time driving his #51 Camaro. Andrew Abbott will call the shots as crew chief for the team. So far, RepairableVehicles.com will continue as the primary sponsor for most of the events.
2019: Gray Gaulding (SS Green Light Racing #08 Chevrolet Camaro) - In 33 races, the Colonial Heights, VA native scored 1 top-five, 4 top-tens, had a 17.6 average start, a 16.0 average finish, led 2 laps and closed out the season 13th in the standings. His best NXS season starts were 5th at Daytona (02/16) and, again, at Daytona (07/05). His best finish was 2nd at Talladega (04/27). Gaulding has yet to win an NXS race.
2020: SS Green Light Racing has yet to announce their NXS driver lineup. Unless something changes, Gray Gaulding plans on piloting the #08 Camaro full-time again for another season with Patrick Donahue continuing as his crew chief.

                       Gander Outdoors Truck Series (GOT)

2019: Austin Wayne Self (Niece Motorsports #22 Chevrolet Silverado) – In 21 GOT races, the Austin, TX native scored 1-top-five, 3 top-tens, had a 19.8 average start, a 17.3 average finish and closed out the season 14th in the standings. His best truck season starts were 12th at Daytona (02/15) and Talladega (10/12). His best finish was 5th at Michigan (08/10). Self has yet to win a GOT race. He also made 2 ARCA Menards Series starts in the #32 Chevrolet. He had starts of 4th and 7th, finishes of 8th and 6th, respectively at Chicago and Pocono.
2020: No firm plans announced at Niece Motorsports for the four trucks fielded in 2019. Self is still listed as the driver for the #22 Silverado with Eddie Troconis shown as the crew chief for the team.
2019: Tyler Dippel (Young's Motorsports #02 Chevrolet Silverado) – In 22 GOT races, the Wallkill, NY native scored 1 top-five, 3 top-tens, had a 17.8 average start, a 17.3 average finish, led 2 laps and closed out the season 13th in the standings. His best truck start was 7th at Eldora (08/01) and best finish was 3rd at Michigan (08/10). He has yet to win a GOT race. Dippel also drove Ken Schrader's #52 Ford in the ARCA Menards Series season-opener at Daytona; started 12th, completed all laps and finished in 12th place.
2020: Young's Motorsports has not announced the driver lineup for their three Chevy trucks. No firm plans for Dippel.

                      2020 Tentative CUP Series Team Chart

Car Driver Owner Crew Chief Sponsor
00 Chevy Quin Houff StarCom ? ?
1 Chevy Kurt Busch Chip Ganassi Matt McCall Monster Energy
2 Ford Brad Keselowski Team Penske Paul Wolfe Miller Lite/Discount Tire
3 Chevy Austin Dillon Richard Childress Justin Alexander Dow
4 Ford Kevin Harvick Stewart-Haas Rodney Childers Busch Beer/Mobil 1
6 Ford Ryan Newman Roush Fenway Scott Graves Oscar Mayer
8 Chevy Tyler Reddick - R Richard Childress Randall Burdett Caterpillar
9 Chevy Chase Elliott Hendrick Mspt Alan Gustafson NAPA/Mountain Dew/Hooters/Kelley Blue Book 
10 Ford Aric Almirola Stewart-Haas Mike Bugarewics  Smithfield
11 Toyota Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Chris Gabehart FedEx 
12 Ford Ryan Blaney  Team Penske Jeremy Bullins Advance Auto Parts
13 Chevy Ty Dillon Germain Matt Borland Geico
14 Ford Clint Bowyer Stewart-Haas John Klausmeier Rush Truck Centers/Haas Automation
15 Chevy Brennan Poole Premium Mspt Pat Tryson ?
17 Ford Chris Buescher Roush Fenway Luke Lambert Fifth Third Bank/SunnyD
18 Toyota Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Adam Stephens M&M’s/Skittles/Snickers/ Interstate Batteries
19 Toyota Martin Truex Jr. Joe Gibbs James Small Bass Pro Shops/Auto-Owners Insurance
20 Toyota Erik Jones Joe Gibbs Chris Gayle DeWalt/Reser’s Fine Foods/Sport Clips/Stanley/Craftsman
21 Ford Matt DiBenedetto Wood Brothers Greg Erwin Menards/Motorcraft/Quick Lane
22 Ford Joey Logano Team Penske Todd Gordon Shell-Pennzoil/AAA So.Cal.
24 Chevy William Byron Hendrick Mspt Chad Knaus Liberty University/Axalta/UniFirst/Hertz
32 Ford Corey LaJoie GoFAS Racing ? Keen Parts/Corvetteparts.net
34 Ford Michael McDowell Front Row Mspt Drew Blickensderfer ?
37 Chevy Ryan Preece JTG Daugherty Trent Owens Kroger/Bush’s Beans
38 Ford John Hunter Nemechek Front Row Mspt Seth Barbour MDS Trucking
41 Ford Cole Custer -R Stewart-Haas Mike Shiplett Haas Automation
42 Chevy Kyle Larson Chip Ganassi Chad Johnston ?
43 Chevy Bubba Wallace Richard Petty Derek Stamets  ?
47 Chevy Ricky Stenhouse Jr. JTG Daugherty Brian Pattie Kroger 
48 Chevy Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Mspt Cliff Daniels Ally Financial
51 Chevy Joey Gase Rick Ware George Church Jacob Companies
52 Chevy ? Rick Ware ? ?
53 Chevy ? Rick Ware ? ?
66 Chevy Timmy Hill MBM Motorsports ? ?
77 Chevy ? Spire Mspt Peter Sospenzo ?
88 Chevy Alex Bowman Hendrick Mspt Greg Ives Axalta/Valvoline/Cincinati Inc
95 Toyota Christopher Bell -R Leavine Family Jason Ratcliff Procure/Rheem
  R-Rookie of The Year      


Anthony Ballantoni
Anthony Ballantoni is a Senior Sports Writer at Rotoworld.com.