Loading scores...
Nate Lashley
Getty Images
The Reset

Lashley zooms to Rocket win; 3M Open up next

by Dave Tindall
Updated On: July 1, 2019, 12:38 am ET

In a new regular column on Rotoworld, we reflect on the tournaments just gone and also take an early peek at the action ahead on the PGA and European Tours. Mo Yoshimoto will take a much deeper delve into what took place at TPC Sawgrass in The Takeaway.


Rocket Mortgage Classic 

Final Leaderboard

1. (-25, 263) Nate Lashley (Odds: N/A; DraftKings pricing: N/A)
2. (-19, 269) Doc Redman (Odds: 250/1; DraftKings pricing: $6,400)
2. (-18, 270) Rory Sabbatini (Odds: 55/1; DraftKings pricing: $8,500)
4. (-18, 270) Wes Roach (Odds: 250/1; DraftKings pricing: $6,500)

Notes: As an alternate, Lashley wasn't listed by the bookies or DraftKings although he did show up as a 100/1 chance when play started. Redman and Roach were both way down the betting, leaving Sabbatini as the only member of the top four to have been somewhere on the radar before the week began.

Fate of the favorites

MC. (-2, 142) Dustin Johnson (Odds: 6/1; DraftKings pricing: $12,000)
46. (-9, 279) Rickie Fowler (Odds: 12/1; DraftKings pricing: $11,200)
MC. (-2, 142) Gary Woodland (Odds: 14/1; DraftKings pricing: $10,900)
13. (-15, 273) Hideki Matsuyama (Odds: 14/1; DraftKings pricing: $10,200)

Notes: A collective flop from DJ, Fowler and Woodland and even Matsuyama fell out of the top 10 after a walk-off bogey at this 72nd hole. 


Coming up this week…

3M Open

Location: TPC Twin Cities. 7,468 yards, par 71.

Notes: For the second week running, gamers have to deal with a new tournament and a new course as Minnesota stages its first regular PGA TOUR event in 50 years. That said, there are some clues as TPC Twin Cities hosted the Champions Tour's 3M Championship from 2001 to 2018. In that time, Kenny Perry hoisted the trophy three times while Bernhard Langer was a two-time winner. That last five editions (2014-2018) on the Arnold Palmer design which saw Minnesota native Tom Lehman act as a consultant were won with -23, -18, -19, -20 and -21.

Who’s playing? Brooks Koepka, Phil Mickelson, Jason Day, Hideki Matsuyama, Bryson DeChambeau, Patrick Reed, Tony Finau, Ryan Moore, Keegan Bradley, Kevin Na, Viktor Hovland.



Andalucia Masters

Final Leaderboard

1. (-10, 274) Christiaan Bezuidenhout (Odds: 80/1)
2. (-4, 280) Adri Arnaus (Odds: 200/1)
3. (-4, 280) Eduardo De La Riva (Odds: 750/1)
3. (-4, 280) Mike Lorenzo-Vera (Odds: 20/1)
3. (-4, 280) Alvaro Quiros (Odds: 125/1)
3. (-4, 280) Jon Rahm (Odds: 13/2)

Notes: Five home Spanish players in the top seven at Valderrama! Rahm and Garcia (solo seventh) were expected but the other three were not. That said, Quiros was coming off tied tied in Germany, as was six-shot winner Bezuidenhout so #TeamCurrentForm had a good week. 


Coming up this week…

Dubai Duty Free Irish Open

Location: Lahinch GC, County Clare, Republic of Ireland. 7,036 yards, par 70.

Notes: Lahinch GC, a links track set on the famous Wild Atlantic Way coast of Ireland, is a regular inside the top 100 world's greatest golf courses. Former winning Ryder Cup captain Paul McGinley will act as tournament host and says: "Lahinch is one of Ireland’s great golfing venues, not just because of the golf course but also the town, which is right on the doorstep of the golf club and is always buzzing with life. That whole region on the west coast is just very special. I will be aiming to set the course up to make it perfect preparation for the players ahead of The Open in Portrush two weeks later and I think we will attract a world-class field. It promises to be a fantastic occasion.”

Who’s playing? Jon Rahm, Tommy Fleetwood, Matt Wallace, Tyrrell Hatton, Louis Oosthuizen, Shane Lowry, Ian Poulter, Rafa Cabrera Bello, HaoTong Li, Thorbjorn Olesen, Julian Suri, Lee Westwood, Graeme McDowell, Eddie Pepperell, Abraham Ancer.

Last 5 winners of Irish Open

2018 (-14, 274) Russell Knox (Ballyliffin) – 2nd European Tour win
2017 (-24, 264) Jon Rahm (Portstewart) – 1st European Tour win
2016 (-12, 276) Rory McIlroy (The K Club) – 13th European Tour win
2015 (-2, 282) Soren Kjeldsen (Royal County Down) – 2nd European Tour win
2014 (-13, 271) Mikko Ilonen (Fota Island) – 4th European Tour win

Notes: Aside from Spaniard Rahm, 13 of the previous 14 Irish Opens were won by either GB & Ireland players or Scandinavians (chillier northern Europe).

Dave Tindall
Dave Tindall is former golf editor at Sky Sports.com in the UK and has been writing betting previews for the European Tour since 1997. He can be reached via e-mail on tindall_david@hotmail.com and on Twitter @davetindallgolf.