Loading scores...
Kevin Harvick

Indianapolis - Hand Sanitizer 400

by Anthony Ballantoni
Updated On: July 6, 2020, 12:18 am ET

This past weekend, the NASCAR Cup (NCS) and XFINITY Series (NXS) featured races at the two Indianapolis Motor Speedway tracks. On Saturday, the NXS teams competed for the first time on the 14-turn Indy Road Course. On Sunday, after a short weather delay, the NCS drivers raced on the famous Brickyard oval track. The Gander Trucks will return to action next weekend, joining the NCS and NXS teams at Kentucky Speedway. The latest results and upcoming scheduled events for NASCAR feeder series are included below as well as details on all tracks mentioned in this column.

                        NASCAR Cup Series (NCS)

Sun, Jul 5, Big Machine Hand Sanitizer 400 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway - 160 laps (+1 OT)
- Qualifying was not held for this event. NASCAR set the lineup based on a combination of owner points and a random drawing. P1 went to Joey Logano (#22 Ford Mustang) with #1 Kurt Busch sharing the front row in the P2 spot. #88 Alex Bowman, #48 Justin Allgaier (filling in for Jimmie Johnson who tested positive for COVID-19), #10 Aric Almirola, #11 Denny Hamlin, #18 Kyle Busch, #19 Martin Truex Jr., #2 Brad Keselowski and #9 Chase Elliott made up the remainder of the top-10 in the starting lineup. Did not qualify: No one, 40 cars entered for 40-car lineup.

- Kevin Harvick (#4 Ford Mustang) scored his 53rd victory in 698 NCS races. This is his 4th victory and 13th top-10 finish in 2020. It is his 3rd victory, 8th top-five and 14th top-10 finish in 20 Indianapolis races. Matt Kenseth (2nd) posted his 13th top-10 finish in 20 races at Indy and his 2nd top-10 finish in 2020. Aric Almirola (3rd) earned his 1st top-10 finish in ten races at Indianapolis. Cole Custer (5th) was the highest finishing Sunoco Rookie of the Year (ROTY) contender. Pole-sitter Joey Logano led 14 laps and finished in 10th place. Kevin Harvick leads the point standings by 85 points over Chase Elliott (finished 11th). Next on the NCS schedule: Sun, Jul 12, Quaker State 400 - Kentucky Speedway - 267 laps.

TOP 16 - NCS Playoff Contenders (G/L):
1. Kevin Harvick
2. Chase Elliott +2
3. Brad Keselowski
4. Ryan Blaney -2
5. Denny Hamlin
6. Joey Logano
7. Martin Truex Jr.
8. Alex Bowman
9. Aric Almirola
10. Kyle Busch +1
11. Kurt Busch -1
12. Matt DiBenedetto +2
13. Clint Bowyer
14. William Byron +1
15. Jimmie Johnson -3
16. Austin Dillon +1

                            NASCAR XFINITY Series (NXS)

Sat, Jul 4, Pennzoil 150 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Road Course) - 62 laps
- Qualifying was not held for this event. NASCAR set the lineup based on a random drawing. 
P1 went to Jeb Burton (#8 Chevrolet Camaro) with #1 Michael Annett sharing the front row in the P2 spot. #19 Brandon Jones, #39 Ryan Sieg, No. 7 Justin Allgaier, #20 Harrison Burton, #21 Anthony Alfredo, #9 Noah Gragson, #10 Ross Chastain and #22 Austin Cindric made up the remainder of the top-10 in the starting lineup. Did not qualify: No one, 38 cars entered for 40-car lineup.

- Chase Briscoe (#98 Ford Mustang) scored his 7th victory in 64 NXS races and his 5th victory and 10th top-10 finish in 2020. He becomes just the 2nd driver in series history to win five or more races in the first 13 starts of a NXS season joining Sam Ard with six wins in 1984. Justin Haley (2nd) posted his 8th top-10 finish in 2020. Noah Gragson (3rd) earned his 10th top-10 finish in 2020. Myatt Snider (16th) was the highest finishing ROTY. Chase Briscoe leads the point standings by 15 points over Noah Gragson. Next on the NXS schedule: Thu, Jul 9, Shady Rays 200 - Kentucky Speedway - 134 laps.

TOP 12 - NXS Playoff Contenders (G/L):
1. Chase Briscoe
2. Noah Gragson
3. Ross Chastain
4. Austin Cindric
5. Justin Haley +1
6. Justin Allgaier +1
7. Harrison Burton -2
8. Brandon Jones
9. Michael Annett
10. Ryan Sieg
11. Riley Herbst
12. Brandon Brown +2

                     NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series (GOT)

Next up for the GOT: Sat, Jul 11, Buckle Up In Your Truck 225 - Kentucky Speedway - 225 laps.

TOP 10 - GOT Playoff Contenders (G/L):
1. Austin Hill
2. Ben Rhodes +2
3. Grant Enfinger
4. Sheldon Creed +5
5. Todd Gilliland
6. Christian Eckes -4
7. Zane Smith -1
8. Tyler Ankrum +2
9. Brett Moffitt -1
10. Johnny Sauter -3

                          NASCAR Feeder Series

ARCA Menards Series: Fri, Jul 3, Calypso Lemonade 200 - Lucas Oil Raceway - 200 laps
Winner: Chandler Smith - Pole: Chandler Smith - Points Leader: Michael Self
Next: Sat, Jul 11, General Tire 150 - Kentucky Speedway - 100 laps

ARCA Menards East: Sat, Jun 13, Herr's Potato Chips 200 - Toledo Speedway - 200 laps (+4 OT)
Winner: Ty Gibbs - Pole: Sam Mayer - Points Leader: Sam Mayer
Next: Not yet announced.

ARCA Menards West: Sat, Jul 4, ENEOS 125 - Irwindale Speedway - 125 laps
Winner: Jesse Love - Pole: Jesse Love - Points Leader: Jesse Love
Next: Not yet announced.

Whelen Modified Tour: Sat, Jul 4, Independence Day 200 - White Mountain - 200 laps (+5 OT)
Winner: Justin Bonsignore - Pole: Matt Hirschman - Points Leader: Justin Bonsignore
Next: Not yet announced.

Pinty's Series:
2020 Season Opener: Not yet announced.

Peak Mexico Series:
2020 Season Opener: Thu, Jul 9, at Autódromo del Ecocentro de la Unión Ganadera

                                Track Details

Autódromo del Ecocentro de la Unión Ganadera - 0.79-mile oval in Querétaro
Indianapolis Motor Speedway - 2.41-mile, 14 turn Road Course in Speedway, Indiana
Indianapolis Motor Speedway - 2.5-mile rectangular oval in Speedway, Indiana
Irwindale Speedway - 0.5-mile oval in Irwindale, California
Kentucky Speedway - 1.5-mile tri-oval in Sparta, Kentucky
Lucas Oil Raceway - 0.686-mile oval in Brownsburg, Indiana
Toledo Speedway - 0.5-mile oval in Toledo, Ohio
White Mountain Motorsports Park - 0.25 mile oval in North Woodstock, New Hampshire

Anthony Ballantoni
Anthony Ballantoni is a Senior Sports Writer at Rotoworld.com.