Loading scores...

North Wilkesboro Speedway - iRacing

by Anthony Ballantoni
Updated On: May 11, 2020, 10:59 am ET

NASCAR live racing will return on May 17 at Darlington Raceway. At that time some iRacing Series events at virtual versions of familiar NASCAR tracks may cut their schedules short or completely end. We will continue to follow them until the majority of live NASCAR racing returns to regular action.

eNASCAR iRacing Pro Invitational Series
The eNASCAR iRacing Pro Invitational Series was organized for NASCAR Cup, XFINITY and Truck Series drivers to compete in after its 2020 seasons were put on hold due to the pandemic. It started as a one-time virtual event on March 21 but turned into a weekly series.
Mar. 21 - Dixie Vodka 150 at virtual Homestead-Miami Speedway. Winner: Denny Hamlin
Mar. 29 - O'Reilly Auto Parts 125 at Texas Motor Speedway. Winner: Timmy Hill
Apr.  5 - Food City Showdown at Bristol Motor Speedway. Winner: William Byron
Apr. 19 - Toyota Owners 150 at Richmond Raceway. Winner: William Byron
Apr. 26 - GEICO 70 at Talladega Superspeedway. Winner: Alex Bowman
May 3 - Finish Line 150 at Dover International Speedway. Winner: William Byron
May 9 - North Wilkesboro 160 at North Wilkesboro Speedway.
- Winner: Denny Hamlin, who won the iRacing Pro Invitational Series opener at Homestead-Miami, bookended the series by winning the final event at virtual North Wilkesboro. On the final restart with 15 laps to go in the 160-lap race, Ross Chastain and Timmy Hill were out front when the green flag waved, but Hamlin passed Hill with 12 to go. Chastain got loose with 9 laps to go, allowing Hamlin to take the lead. Hill wound up 2nd. Tyler Reddick came in 3rd, while Chastain finished 4th. Austin Dillon completed the top five. Garrett Smithley, Brennan Poole, Parker Kligerman, Kevin Harvick and Landon Cassill rounded out the top 10 in order.
iRacing Saturday Night Thunder
The iRacing Saturday Night Thunder was formed as a spin-off of the iRacing Pro Invitational Series. It used virtual ARCA Menards Series cars at Bristol for it's inaugural race. The rest of the events in the series used Xfinity Series virtual cars. The races were open to Xfinity, Gander Trucks, NASCAR Peak Mexico, Pinty’s, Whelen Euro and ARCA drivers.
Apr. 4 inaugural event at virtual Bristol Motor Speedway. Winner: Logan Seavey
Apr. 18 at Richmond Raceway. Winner: Josh Berry
Apr. 25 at Talladega Superspeedway. Winner: Landon Huffman
May 2 at Dover International Speedway. Winner: Anthony Alfredo
May 8 (became Friday Night Thunder) at Martinsville Speedway (Final Series event due to live NASCAR returning on May 17). 
- Winner: Ty Majeski once again showed why he’s one of the best iRacing drivers in the world, dominating from the pole en route to the win under the lights in Friday Night Thunder at Martinsville Speedway. Alex Labbe finished second, followed by Stefan Parsons, Donny Lia and Josh Berry. Sixth through 10th were Chase Cabre, Derek Krause, Anthony Alfredo, Noah Gragson and Drew Herring. Even being involved in late-race contact with Stephen Leicht with 14 laps to go didn’t keep Majeski from taking the checkered flag in the 125-lap race in Xfinity Series virtual cars.
IceBox Pickup Throwdown iRacing Truck Series
The IceBox Pickup Throwdown iRacing Truck Series, developed by Jordan Anderson of Anderson Racing and Tim Self of AM Racing, began on April 23 at virtual Texas Motor Speedway. This is a five-week series featuring real-world NASCAR XFINITY Series, NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series as well as IndyCar Series drivers competing in iRacing’s Class C trucks. All races of the series are broadcasted live Thursday nights on Eric Estepp’s YouTube channel and at twitch.tv/podiumesports.
Round 1: April 23 at Texas Motor Speedway. Winner: Christian Eckes 
Round 2: April 30 Rich Mar Florist 100 at Kansas Speedway. Winner: Santino Ferrucci
Round 3: May 7 FireDisc 100 at Michigan International Speedway
- Winner: Timmy Hill proved to be king of the road at virtual Michigan Int'l Speedway in Thursday night's FireDisc 100. With challenges from Austin Hill, Tyler Hill (Timmy’s younger brother), Jordan Anderson, and Brett Moffitt, nobody had an answer for Timmy Hill. He drove his way to Michigan’s Victory Lane while Austin Hill and Anderson earned respectable podium finishes.

Round 4: May 14  Bommarito.com 100 at World Wide Technology Raceway
Round 5: May 21 (Championship) IceBox 100 at Homestead-Miami Speedway
NASCAR Roots iRacing League
The NASCAR Roots iRacing League is a four-race, Monday night series formed by the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour (NWMT) and is open to NWMT drivers as well as drivers from the ARCA Menards Series and NASCAR’s international series (Pinty's in Canada, Whelen Euro). NASCAR Modified Tour virtual cars are used in this series. The races are streamed live on NASCAR Roots’ channels on Facebook, Twitter and Twitch.
Round 1: April 20 at Florida's New Myrna Speedway. Winner: Parker Retzlaff
Round 2: April 27 at Southern National Raceway Park (NC). Winner: Parker Retzlaff
Round 3: May 4 at Connecticut's Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park.
- Winner: Parker Retzlaff (ARCA East) celebrates another dominating win. This time he led all laps of the May 4th 50-lap feature. Andre Castro (Whelen Euro), Chase Dowling (NWMT), Mason Diaz (ARCA East) and Daniel Dye (ARCA East) rounded out the top 5 in the event. So far, Retzlaff has swept the first three races the series.

Round 4: May 11 at the New Hampshire Motor Speedway
The Replacements iRacing Series
Originally a one-off event on March 15th, The Replacements 100 at Atlanta Motor Speedway, won by Josh Williams, was successful enough to be followed by more of the same. The Replacements, an eight-race biweekly iRacing series alternating between NASCAR Cup cars and street stocks, was established by NASCAR spotters Kevin Hamlin and TJ Majors. A variety of NASCAR drivers and team members participated.
Round 1: March 24, NASCAR Cup cars, at Kansas Speedway. Winner: Josh Berry
Round 2: April 7, Street Stock cars at Myrtle Beach Speedway. Winner: Ty Majeski
Round 3: April 21, NASCAR Cup cars at Talladega Superspeedway. Winner: Bryan 'Boris' Cook
Round 4: May 5, Street Stock cars at Phoenix International Speedway.
- Winner: Josh Berry became the first driver to score a 2nd victory in the LeafFilter Replacements. He was dominant throughout the 80-lap Street Stock race but, in the closing laps, he had to hold of late charges from Coleman Pressley, TJ Majors, and Ross Chastain. On the final restart, Majors was turned into the infield on the backstretch by Pressley. That left Berry to duel with Chastain. In the final corner, he took the line away from Chastain before driving up to the outside wall. Berry took the checkered flag with 0.104 seconds back to Chastain. Pressley, Parker Kligerman and Josh Williams rounded out the top-five. Pole sitter Kevin Iannarelli, Justin Haley, Ty Majeski, Tim Dugger, and Justin Allgaier rounded out the top-10.

Remaining: Live NASCAR races will be returning on May 17 and those series will be playing catch-up, running multiple races each week. The Replacement series Rounds 5 to 8 were scheduled from May 19 to June 30. If iRacing does plan on completing the 8-race series, schedules will be announced at a later date.

Anthony Ballantoni
Anthony Ballantoni is a Senior Sports Writer at Rotoworld.com.