Loading scores...

Wrap-up: Charlotte Road Course

by Anthony Ballantoni
Updated On: October 4, 2018, 4:04 pm ET

The Cup and XFINITY Series made their first ever start at the new Charlotte Motor Speedway Road Course (ROVAL). Both series have competed on the Charlotte oval since 1959. The 2.28-mile ROVAL is a combination of a portion of the main 1.5-mile oval and the new 17-turn road course which runs thru the infield. On Saturday, the XFINITY Series ran the inaugural event, the 55-lap Drive for the Cure 200, at the Concord, North Carolina facility. The Cup series featured the 109-lap Bank of America ROVAL 400. This was also the Round of 16 cut-off race for the 2018 Cup Series playoffs that determined which drivers would advance to compete in the Round of 12. The Camping World Truck Series returns to action on Saturday, October 13, with the Talladega 250 at Talladega Superspeedway in Alabama. Results and upcoming scheduled events for the NASCAR Home Tracks are also shown below. The NASCAR Pinty Series has completed the 2018 season.
Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series (MENCS)
Time Trials: Kurt Busch (No. 41 Ford) won the Busch Pole Award for the Bank of America ROVAL 400 at the Charlotte Motor Speedway Road Course with a lap of 106.868 mph. This is his 26th pole in 641 MENCS races. It is his fourth pole and 21st top-10 start in 2018. AJ Allmendinger (second) posted his third top-10 start of 2018. Alex Bowman (third) posted his 10th top-10 in 29 races this season. William Byron (21st) was the fastest qualifying Sunoco Rookie of the Year (ROTY) contender.
Did not qualify: No one. 40 cars entered for 40 spots in the lineup.
Results: Ryan Blaney (No. 12 Ford) won the Bank of America ROVAL 400, his second victory in 119 MENCS races. This is his first victory and 14th top-10 finish in 2018. Jamie McMurray (second) posted his seventh top-10 finish in 2018. Clint Bowyer (third) posted his 14th top-10 finish in 2018. William Byron (34th) was the highest finishing ROTY contender. Pole-sitter Kurt Busch led seven laps and finished the 109-lap race in fifth-place.
Standings: Kyle Busch leads the point standings by 5 points over Kevin Harvick.
MENCS Round of 12 Chase Field: (ranked by re-seeded points)
1. Kyle Busch
2. Kevin Harvick
3. Martin Truex Jr.
4. Brad Keselowski
5. Clint Bowyer
6. Joey Logano
7. Kurt Busch
8. Ryan Blaney
-After the next three races (Dover, Talladega and Kansas), the bottom four in the point standings will not advance to the MENCS Round of 8.
9. Chase Elliott
10. Kyle Larson
11. Aric Almirola
12. Alex Bowman
Next: Sunday, Oct. 7, Gander Outdoors 400 at Dover Int’l Speedway (1-mile concrete oval in Delaware)
- - - - -
Time Trials: Austin Cindric (No. 22 Ford) won the Pole Award for the Drive for the Cure 200 at the ROVAL with a lap of 105.527 mph. This is his third pole in 28 NXS races. It is his third pole and 15th top-10 start in 2018. Daniel Hemric (second) posted his 22nd top-10 start of 2018. Tyler Reddick (third) posted his 18th top-10 start 28 races this season. Alex Labbe (fifth) was the fastest qualifying ROTY contender.
Did Not Qualify: No. 97 Tanner Berryhill.
Results: Chase Briscoe (No. 98 Ford) won the Drive for the Cure 200 at the ROVAL, his first victory in 14 NXS races. This is his fourth top-10 finish in 2018. Justin Marks (second) posted his second top-10 finish in 2018. Pole-sitter Austin Cindric (third) led 13 laps of the 55-lap race.
Standings: Christopher Bell leads the point standings by 33 points over Daniel Hemric.
NXS Round of 12 Chase Field:
1. Christopher Bell
2. Daniel Hemric
3. Tyler Reddick
4. Cole Custer
5. Matt Tifft
6. Elliott Sadler
7. Justin Allgaier
8. Ross Chastain
-After the next race (Dover), the bottom four in the point standings will not advance to the NXS Round of 8.
9. Austin Cindric
10. Ryan Truex
11. Ryan Reed
12. Brandon Jones
Next: Saturday, Oct. 6, Bar Harbor 200 at Dover (DE) Int’l Speedway
- - - - -
NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS)
Standings: Johnny Sauter leads the point standings by 17 points over Noah Gragson.
NCWTS Round of 8 Chase Field:
1. Johnny Sauter
2. Noah Gragson
3. Brett Moffitt
4. Justin Haley
5. Matt Crafton
6. Grant Enfinger
-After the next race (Talladega), the bottom two in the point standings will not advance to the NCWTS Round of 6.
7. Ben Rhodes
8. Stewart Friesen
Next: Saturday, October 13, Talladega 250 at Talladega Superspeedway (2.66-mile tri-oval in Alabama)
- - - - -
NASCAR Home Tracks
ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards
Sept. 15, Kentuckiana Ford Dealers Fall Classic at Salem Speedway in Indiana
Winner: Chandler Smith - Pole: Zane Smith – Points Lead: Sheldon Creed
Next: October 6, Shore Lunch 200 at Lucas Oil Raceway (0.686-mile oval in Brownsburg, Indiana)
K&N Pro Series-East
Sept. 22, Apple Barrel 125 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway in Loudon, NH
Winner: Brandon McReynolds - Pole: Derek Kraus
2018 K&N Pro Series-East Champion: Tyler Ankrum (clinched after Loudon)
Next: Oct. 5 at Dover Int’l Speedway in Delaware
K&N Pro Series-West
Sept. 29, NAPA Auto Parts Idaho 208 at Meridian (ID) Speedway
Winner: Hailie Deegan - Pole: Derek Kraus - Points Lead: Derek Thorn
Next: Oct. 13, Toyota/NAPA AutoCare 150 at All American Speedway (0.333-mile oval in Roseville, CA)
Pinty’s Series
Sept. 29, Pinty’s Fall Brawl at Jukasa Motor Speedway in Hagersville, Ontario
Winner: D.J. Kennington - Pole: D.J. Kennington
2018 Pinty's Series Champion: L.P. Dumoulin
2018 Pinty's Series Jostens Rookie of the Year: Brett Taylor
Whelen Modified Tour
Sept. 30, NAPA Fall Final 150 at Stafford Motor Speedway in Stafford Springs, CT
Winner: Kyle Bonsignore - Pole: Justin Bonsignore
2018 Whelen Modified Tour Champion: Justin Bonsignore (clinched at Stafford)
Season Finale: Oct. 14, Sunoco World Series 150 at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park (0.625-mile oval in CT)
Peak Mexico Series
Sept. 30, ARRIS Grand Prix at Súper Óvalo Chiapas in Tuxtla Gutierrez
Winner: Irwin Vences - Pole: Ruben Garcia Jr. - Points Lead: Ruben Garcia Jr.
Next: Oct. 21 at Aguascalientes International Speedway (0.875-mile concrete oval in Mexico)

Anthony Ballantoni
Anthony Ballantoni is a Senior Sports Writer at Rotoworld.com.