Loading scores...

Wrap-up Daytona Int'l Speedway

by Anthony Ballantoni
Updated On: October 4, 2018, 4:04 pm ET

Two of the three top NASCAR series were active this past weekend at the Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, Florida. On Friday night, the NASCAR XFINTY Series featured the 105-lap (five laps overtime) Coca-Cola Firecracker 250 at the 2.5-mile tri-oval superspeedway. The Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series closed out the weekend with the 168-lap (eight laps overtime) Coke Zero Sugar 400 on Saturday evening. The Camping World Truck Series will return to action on Thursday, July 12, with the Buckle Up in Your Truck 225 at Kentucky Speedway in Sparta, KY. Results and upcoming scheduled events for the NASCAR Home Tracks are also shown below.
Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series (MENCS)
Time Trials: Chase Elliott (No. 9 Hooters Chevrolet) won the Pole Award for the Coke Zero Sugar 400 with a lap of 194.045 mph. This is his fourth pole in 95 MENCS races and his third pole in six races at Daytona. It is Elliott's ninth top-10 start in 2018. Alex Bowman (second) posted his fourth top-10 start of 2018 and his second in five races at Daytona. Brad Keselowski (third) scored his fifth top-10 start at Daytona and his 12th in 18 races this season. William Byron (18th) was the fastest qualifying Sunoco Rookie of the Year contender.
Did not qualify: No. 92 Timothy Peters.
Results: Erik Jones (No. 20 buyatoyota.com Toyota) won the Coke Zero Sugar 400, his first victory in 57 MENCS races. This is his eighth top-10 finish in 2018 and his second top-10 finish in four races at Daytona. Martin Truex Jr. (second) posted his fourth top-10 finish in 27 races at Daytona and his 12th top-10 in 2018. AJ Allmendinger (third) earned his sixth top-10 finish in 19 races at Daytona. Darrell Wallace Jr. (14th) was the highest finishing Sunoco ROTY contender. Pole-sitter Chase Elliott led 11 laps, made it to lap 54 before being involved in a multi-car wreck and was credited with a 34th place DNF in the 168-lap event.
Standings: Kyle Busch leads the point standings by 57 points over Kevin Harvick.
Top 16 - Chase Contenders:
1. Kyle Busch
2. Kevin Harvick
3. Martin Truex Jr.
4. Joey Logano
5. Brad Keselowski
6. Clint Bowyer
7. Kurt Busch
8. Kyle Larson
9. Denny Hamlin
10. Aric Almirola
11. Ryan Blaney
12. Jimmie Johnson
13. Erik Jones
14. Chase Elliott
15. Alex Bowman
16. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
Next: Saturday, July 14, Quaker State 400 at Kentucky Speedway (1.5-mile tri-oval in Sparta, KY)
- - - - -
Time Trials: Rain canceled Friday’s NASCAR Xfinity Series Coca-Cola Firecracker 250 qualifying at Daytona. The lineup was set by owners points and that placed Ryan Preece on the pole position in the Joe Gibbs Racing owned No. 18 Toyota. Cup driver Ryan Blaney (No. 21 Ford), driving the Team Penske No. 22 Mustang started second. Christopher Bell (Joe Gibbs Racing No. 20 Toyota), sixth on the grid, was the highest starting ROTY contender.
Did Not Qualify: No one. 40 cars entered for 40 spots in the lineup.
Results: Cup Series regular Kyle Larson won the Coca-Cola Firecracker 250, his 11th victory in 106 NXS races. This is his third victory and third top-10 NXS finish in 2018. It is the No. 42 DC Solar Chevrolet Camaro driver's first victory and fifth top-10 finish in eight NXS races at Daytona. Elliott Sadler (second) posted his 10th top-10 finish in 19 races at Daytona and his 14th top-10 series finish in 2018. Christopher Bell (third), the highest finishing ROTY contender, posted his first top-10 finish in two races at Daytona.
Standings: Elliott Sadler leads the point standings by 12 points over Daniel Hemric.
Top 12 - Chase Contenders:
1. Elliott Sadler
2. Daniel Hemric
3. Cole Custer
4. Christopher Bell
5. Justin Allgaier
6. Tyler Reddick
7. Brandon Jones
8. Ryan Truex
9. Matt Tifft
10. Austin Cindric
11. Ryan Reed
12. Ross Chastain
Next: Friday, July 13, Alsco 300 at Kentucky Speedway in Sparta, KY
- - - - -
NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS)
Standings: Johnny Sauter leads the point standings by 65 points over Noah Gragson.
Top 8 - Chase Contenders:
1. Johnny Sauter
2. Noah Gragson
3. Brett Moffitt
4. Stewart Friesen
5. Grant Enfinger
6. Justin Haley
7. Matt Crafton
8. Ben Rhodes
Next: Thursday, July 12, Buckle Up in Your Truck 225 at Kentucky Speedway in Sparta, KY
- - - - -
NASCAR Home Tracks
ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards
July 7, Fans with Benefits 150 at Iowa Speedway in Newton, IA
Winner: Sheldon Creed - Pole: Sheldon Creed - Points Leader: Sheldon Creed
Next: July 14, Sioux Chief Power Pex 250 at Elko Speedway (0.375-mile oval in Elko, MN)
K&N Pro Series-East
June 16, JUSTDRIVE.com 125 at New Jersey Motorsports Park in Millville, NJ
Winner: Will Rodgers - Pole: Ernie Francis Jr. – Points Leader: Tyler Ankrum
Next: July 14, Throwback 100 at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park (0.625-mile oval in CT)
K&N Pro Series-West
June 30, Clint Newell Toyota 150 at Douglas County Speedway in Roseburg, OR
Winner: Derek Kraus - Pole: Derek Thorn - Points Leader: Ryan Partridge
Next: July 27, (East/West combo) Casey's General Store 150 at Iowa Speedway
Pinty’s Series
June 30, Bumper to Bumper 300 at Autodrome Chaudiere in Vallee-Jonction, Quebec
Winner: Andrew Ranger - Pole: L.P. Dumoulin - Points Leader: L.P. Dumoulin
Next: July 14, Pinty's Grand Prix of Toronto at Exhibition Place
Whelen Modified Tour
July 7, Buzz Chew Chevrolet Cadillac 200 at Riverhead Raceway in New York
Winner: Justin Bonsignore - Pole: Justin Bonsignore – Points Leader: Justin Bonsignore
Next: July 21, All-Star Shootout (non-points) at New Hampshire Motor Speedway (1.058-mile oval in Loudon, NH)
Also: July 22, Eastern Propane & Oil 100 (points-paying) at NHMS

Anthony Ballantoni

Anthony Ballantoni is a Senior Sports Writer at NBC Sports Edge.