Loading scores...

Wrap-up: Richmond Raceway

by Anthony Ballantoni
Updated On: October 4, 2018, 4:04 pm ET

The Richmond Raceway in Virginia hosted the Cup and XFINITY series night races this past weekend. On Friday night, the 250-lap Go Bowling 250 was on the schedule for the XFINITY Series. The Cup drivers took their turn on Saturday night to compete in the 400-lap Federated Auto Parts 400 on the 0.75-mile oval short track. The Camping World Truck Series returns to action on Saturday, October 13, with the Talladega 250 at Talladega Superspeedway in Alabama. Results and upcoming scheduled events for the NASCAR Home Tracks are also shown below.
Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series (MENCS)
Time Trials: Kevin Harvick (No. 4 Ford) won the Busch Pole Award for the Federated Auto Parts 400 with a lap of 121.880 mph. This is his 24th pole in 638 MENCS races. This is his third pole and 21st top-10 start in 2018 and his second pole in 36 races at Richmond Raceway. Denny Hamlin (second) posted his 20th top-10 start of 2018 and his 16th in 25 races at Richmond. Martin Truex Jr. (third) scored his 14th top-10 start at Richmond and his 20th in 28 races this season. William Byron (20th) was the fastest qualifying Sunoco Rookie of they Year (ROTY) contender.
Did not qualify: No one. 40 cars entered for 40 spots in the lineup.
Results: Kyle Busch (No. 18 Toyota) won the Federated Auto Parts 400, his 50th victory in 490 MENCS races. This is his seventh victory and 23rd top-10 finish in 2018 and his sixth victory and 20th top-10 finish in 27 races at Richmond. Pole-sitter Kevin Harvick (second), who led 40 laps of the 400-lap event, posted his 23rd top-10 finish in 36 races at Richmond. It is his 23rd top-10 finish in 2018. Martin Truex Jr. (third) posted his ninth top-10 finish in 26 races at Richmond. William Byron (20th) was the highest finishing ROTY contender.
Standings: Martin Truex Jr. leads the point standings by 16 points over Kyle Busch.
MENCS Round of 16 Chase Field:
1. Martin Truex Jr.
2. Kyle Busch
3. Kevin Harvick
4. Brad Keselowski
5. Joey Logano
6. Aric Almirola
7. Kyle Larson
8. Kurt Busch
9. Chase Elliott
10. Austin Dillon
11. Alex Bowman
12. Ryan Blaney
-After the next race (Charlotte), the bottom four in the point standings will not advance to the Round of 12.
13. Clint Bowyer
14. Jimmie Johnson
15. Erik Jones
16. Denny Hamlin
Next: Sunday, Sept. 30, Bank of America ROVAL 400 at Charlotte Motor Speedway ROVAL (2.25-mile road course in Concord, NC)
- - - - -
Time Trials: Christopher Bell (No. 20 Toyota) won the Pole Award for the Go Bowling 250 with a lap of 118.990 mph. This is his fifth pole in 35 NASCAR Xfinity Series (NXS) races. It is his fourth pole and 19th top-10 start in 2018 and his first pole in three races at Richmond. Dale Earnhardt Jr. (second) posted his seventh top-10 in eight NXS races at Richmond. Ross Chastain (third) scored his first top-10 start at Richmond and his third in 27 races this season.
Did Not Qualify: No one. 40 cars, 40 slots in lineup.
Results: Pole-sitter Christopher Bell won the Go Bowling 250, his sixth victory in 35 NXS races. This is his fifth victory and 17th top-10 finish in 2018. It his second victory and third top-10 finish in three races at Richmond. Ross Chastain (second) posted his first top-10 finish in eight races at Richmond and his eighth top-10 in 2018. Daniel Hemric (third) posted his third top-10 finish in four races at Richmond.
Standings: Christopher Bell leads the point standings by 28 points over Daniel Hemric.
NXS Round of 12 Chase Field:
1. Christopher Bell
2. Daniel Hemric
3. Justin Allgaier
4. Ross Chastain
5. Elliott Sadler
6. Matt Tifft
7. Tyler Reddick
8. Brandon Jones
-After the next two races (Charlotte and Dover), the bottom four in the point standings will not advance to the Round of 8.
9. Cole Custer
10. Ryan Truex
11. Austin Cindric
12. Ryan Reed
Next: Saturday, Sept. 29, Drive for the Cure 200 at Charlotte Motor Speedway in Concord, NC
- - - - -
NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS)
Standings: Johnny Sauter leads the point standings by 17 points over Noah Gragson.
NCWTS Round of 8 Chase Field:
1. Johnny Sauter
2. Noah Gragson
3. Brett Moffitt
4. Justin Haley - P
5. Matt Crafton
6. Grant Enfinger - P
-After the next race (Talladega), the bottom two in the point standings will not advance to the Round of 6.
7. Ben Rhodes
8. Stewart Friesen
Next: Saturday, October 13, Talladega 250 at Talladega Superspeedway (2.66-mile tri-oval in Alabama)
- - - - -
NASCAR Home Tracks
ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards
Sept. 15, Kentuckiana Ford Dealers Fall Classic at Salem Speedway in Indiana
Winner: Chandler Smith - Pole: Zane Smith – Points Lead: Sheldon Creed
Next: October 6, Shore Lunch 200 at Lucas Oil Raceway (0.686-mile oval in Brownsburg, Indiana)
K&N Pro Series-East
Sept. 22, Apple Barrel 125 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway in Loudon, NH
Winner: Brandon McReynolds - Pole: Derek Kraus
2018 K&N Pro Series-East Champion: Tyler Ankrum (clinched after Loudon)
Next: Oct. 5 at Dover Int’l Speedway (1-mile concrete oval in Delaware)
K&N Pro Series-West
Sept. 13, Star Nursery 100 at Las Vegas (NV) Motor Speedway Dirt Track
Winner: Sheldon Creed - Pole: Hailie Deegan - Points Lead: Derek Thorn
Next: Sept. 29, NAPA Auto Parts Idaho 208 at Meridian Speedway (0.25-mile oval in Idaho)
Pinty’s Series
Sept. 22, Visit New Hampshire 100 at NH Motor Speedway in Loudon, NH
Winner: Kevin Lacroix - Pole: Cole Powell - Points Lead: L.P. Dumoulin
Season Finale: Sept. 29, Pinty’s Fall Brawl at Jukasa Motor Speedway (0.625-mile oval in Hagersville, Ontario)
Whelen Modified Tour
Sept. 22, Musket 250 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway in Loudon, NH
Winner: Chase Dowling - Pole: Chase Dowling – Points Lead: Justin Bonsignore
Next: Sept. 30, NAPA Fall Final 150 at Stafford Motor Speedway (0.5-mile oval in Stafford Springs, CT)
Peak Mexico Series
Sept. 9, Red Cola Grand Prix at Autodromo Miguel E. Abed in Puebla, Mexico
Winner: Ruben Rovelo - Pole: Santiago Tovar - Points Lead: Ruben Garcia Jr.
Next: Sept. 30 at Súper Óvalo Chiapas (0.75-mile tri-oval in Tuxtla Gutierrez)

Anthony Ballantoni
Anthony Ballantoni is a Senior Sports Writer at Rotoworld.com.