Loading scores...

Wrap-up: Watkins Glen Int'l

by Anthony Ballantoni
Updated On: October 4, 2018, 4:04 pm ET

New York's Watkins Glen International was the site of this past weekend's NASCAR Cup and XFINITY Series races. The NXS took to the 2.45-mile road course for the 82-lap Zippo 200 on Saturday afternoon. On Sunday, the Cup drivers "turned left and right" while competing in the 90-lap Go Bowling at The Glen. The Camping World Truck Series returns to action next weekend with the Corrigan Oil 200 at Michigan Int’l Speedway in Brooklyn, MI. Results and upcoming scheduled events for the NASCAR Home Tracks are also shown below.
Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series (MENCS)
Time Trials: Denny Hamlin (No. 11 Toyota) won the Busch Pole Award for the Go Bowling at The Glen with a lap of 125.534 mph. It is his 27th pole in 456 MENCS races. This is his first pole and 14th top-10 start in 2018 and his first pole in 13 races at Watkins Glen International (WGI). Kyle Busch (second) posted his 15th top-10 start of 2018 and his 12th in 14 races at WGI. Chase Elliott (third) posted his second top-10 start at WGI. It is his 12th in 22 races this season. William Byron (17th) was the fastest qualifying Sunoco Rookie of the Year (ROTY) contender.
Did not qualify: No one. 37 cars entered for 40 spots in the lineup.
Results: Chase Elliott (No. 9 Chevrolet) won the Go Bowling at The Glen, his first victory in 99 MENCS races. This is his 11th top-10 finish in 2018 and his first in three races at WGI. Martin Truex Jr. (second) posted his eighth top-10 finish in 13 races at WGI. It is his 15th top-10 finish in 2018. Kyle Busch (third) posted his 12th top-10 finish in 14 races at WGI. William Byron (eighth) was the highest finishing ROTY contender. Pole-sitter Denny Hamlin led two laps and finished the 90-lap race in 13th place.
Standings: Kyle Busch leads the point standings by 70 points over Kevin Harvick.
Top 16 - Chase Contenders:
1. Kyle Busch
2. Kevin Harvick
3. Martin Truex Jr.
4. Kurt Busch
5. Clint Bowyer
6. Joey Logano
7. Brad Keselowski
8. Kyle Larson
9. Denny Hamlin
10. Ryan Blaney
11. Chase Elliott
12. Aric Almirola
13. Erik Jones
14. Jimmie Johnson
15. Alex Bowman
16. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
Next: Sunday, August 12, Consumers Energy 400 at Michigan Int’l Speedway (2-mile oval in Brooklyn, MI)
- - - - -
Time Trials: Cup Series regular Joey Logano (No. 22 Ford) won the Pole Award for the Zippo 200 with a lap of 122.995 mph. This is his 35th pole in 173 NXS races. It is his first pole and fourth top-10 NXS start in 2018 and his fourth pole in 11 NXS races at WGI. Another Cup regular, Brad Keselowski (second) posted his fourth top-10 NXS start of 2018 and his ninth in ten NXS races at WGI. Kyle Larson (third), also a Cup regular, posted his fourth top-10 NXS start at WGI and his fifth in five NXS races this season. Christopher Bell (11th) was the fastest qualifying ROTY contender.
Did Not Qualify: No. 74 Stephen Leicht.
Results: Joey Logano won the Zippo 200, his 30th victory in 173 NXS races. This is his second victory and third top-10 NXS finish in 2018. It is his third victory and eighth top-10 finish in 11 NXS races at WGI. In his first NXS career start at WGI, Cup regular AJ Allmendinger led 11 laps and finished the 82-lap race in second place. Justin Allgaier (finished third) posted his fifth top-10 finish in eight races at WGI. Christopher Bell (ninth) was the highest finishing ROTY contender.
Standings: Christopher Bell leads the point standings by 22 points over Cole Custer.
Top 12 - Chase Contenders:
1. Christopher Bell
2. Cole Custer
3. Daniel Hemric
4. Elliott Sadler
5. Justin Allgaier
6. Brandon Jones
7. Tyler Reddick
8. Ryan Truex
9. Austin Cindric
10. Matt Tifft
11. Ryan Reed
12. Ross Chastain
Next: Saturday, August 11, Rock N Roll Tequila 170 at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course (2.258-mile road course in Lexington, OH)
- - - - -
NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS)
Standings: Johnny Sauter leads the point standings by 65 points over Noah Gragson.
Top 8 - Chase Contenders:
1. Johnny Sauter
2. Noah Gragson
3. Grant Enfinger
4. Stewart Friesen
5. Brett Moffitt
6. Matt Crafton
7. Justin Haley
8. Ben Rhodes
Next: Saturday, August 11, Corrigan Oil 200 at Michigan Int’l Speedway (2-mile oval in Brooklyn, MI)
- - - - -
NASCAR Home Tracks
ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards
July 27, ModSpace 150 at Pocono Raceway in Long Pond, PA
Winner: Zane Smith - Pole: Gus Dean – Points Leader: Sheldon Creed
Next: August 19, Allen Crowe 100 at Illinois State Fairgrounds (1-mile clay oval in Springfield, IL)
K&N Pro Series-East
August 3, Great Outdoors RV 100 at Watkins Glen International
Winner: Brett Moffitt - Pole: (*) Tyler Ankrum – Points Leader: Tyler Ankrum
(*) Qualifying canceled (weather). Lineup set by owner's points.
Next: August 24, (East/West combo) Gateway Classic at Gateway Motorsports Park (1.25-mile oval in Madison, IL)
K&N Pro Series-West
July 27, (East/West combo) Casey's General Store 150 at Iowa Speedway
Winner: Tyler Ankrum - Pole: Tyler Dippel - Points Leader: Ryan Partridge
Next: August 11, NAPA 175 at Evergreen Speedway (0.646-mile oval in Monroe, WA)
Pinty’s Series
July 25, Velocity Prairie Thunder Twin 125’s at Wyant Group Raceway in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Race 1 Winner: Donald Theetge - Pole: Kevin Lacroix - Points Leader: Andrew Ranger
Race 2 Winner: Cole Powell - Pole: L.P. Dumoulin - Points Leader: Cole Powell
July 28, LUXXUR 300 at Edmonton Int’l Raceway (0.25-mile oval in Wetaskiwin, Alberta)
Winner: L.P. Dumoulin - Pole: Kevin Lacroix - Points Leader: L.P. Dumoulin
Next: August 12, Le 50 Tours Can-Am at Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres (1.53-mile street circuit in Trois-Rivieres, Quebec)
Whelen Modified Tour
August 3, Starrett 150 at Stafford Motor Speedway in Stafford Springs, CT
Winner: Doug Coby - Pole: Chase Dowling – Points Leader: Justin Bonsignore
Next: August 8, Bud 150 at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park (0.625-mile oval in CT)
Peak Mexico Series
July 29 Grand Prix BLU Smartphones at Autodromo de Aguascalientes
Winner: Ruben Garcia Jr. - Pole: Ruben Garcia Jr. - Points Leader: Ruben Garcia Jr.
Next: August 19 at Autódromo del Ecocentro de la Unión Ganadera (0.79-mile oval in Querétaro)

Anthony Ballantoni

Anthony Ballantoni is a Senior Sports Writer at NBC Sports Edge.