Loading scores...

Wrapup: Bristol Motor Speedway

by Anthony Ballantoni
Updated On: October 4, 2018, 4:04 pm ET

The Bristol Motor Speedway (BMS) hosted two races for NASCAR’s top series this past week. On Saturday, the XFINITY Series ran its Drive to Stop Diabetes 300. The Sprint Cup featured the Food City 500 at the 0.533-mile concrete oval in Tennessee on Saturday night. The Camping World Truck Series will return to action on May 8 with the Kansas 250 at Kansas Speedway (Kansas City, KS). Latest results for the ARCA Racing Series and the NASCAR Home Tracks are also shown below.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series
Time Trials:
Matt Kenseth won the Coors Light Pole Award for the Food City 500 in Support of Steve Byrnes with a lap of 14.917 seconds, 128.632 mph. This is the No. 20 Dollar General Toyota Camry driver's 14th pole in 552 NSCS races. This is his first pole and fifth top-10 start in 2015 and Kenseth's second pole in 31 races at BMS.
Did Not Qualify: No. 62 Brendan Gaughan and No. 30 Ron Hornaday Jr.
Winner: Matt Kenseth won the Food City 500 in Support of Steve Byrnes, his 32nd victory in 552 NSCS races. This is his first victory and fourth top-10 finish in 2015. It is his fourth victory and 20th top-10 finish in 31 races at Bristol Motor Speedway.

Contingency Awards - (Start, Finish, Points):
Coors Light Pole Award: Matt Kenseth, #20, 128.632 mph (POLE, WINNER, 8th)
Mahle Clevite Engine Builder: Toyota Racing Development (TRD), #20
Mobil 1 Driver of the Race: Matt Kenseth, #20
Sherwin-Williams Fastest Lap: Matt Kenseth, #20
3M Lap Leader: Kevin Harvick, #4 184 Laps (4th, 38th, LEADER)
Ingersoll Rand Power Move: Kyle Larson, #42 11 positions (14th, 7th, 23rd)
Moog Problem Solver: Ricky Stenhouse Jr. #17 Crew Chief: Nicholas Sandler, 0.238 seconds (25th, 4th, 24th)
Sunoco Rookie of the Race: Brett Moffitt, #55 (24th, 17th, 30th)

Standings: Kevin Harvick leads the point standings by 30 points over Joey Logano.

Top 16 - Chase Contenders (G/L):
1. Kevin Harvick
2. Joey Logano
3. Martin Truex Jr.
4. Jimmie Johnson +2
5. Brad Keselowski -1
6. Dale Earnhardt Jr. +1
7. Kasey Kahne -2
8. Matt Kenseth +4
9. Jeff Gordon +4
10. Aric Almirola -1
11. Denny Hamlin -2
12. Jamie McMurray -1
13. Danica Patrick +4
14. Paul Menard +2
15. Carl Edwards -1
16. Ryan Newman +4

Next:  Toyota Owners 400, Saturday, April 25 at Richmond International Raceway (0.75 mile asphalt oval in VA)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Time Trials: 
Camping World Truck Series regular Erik Jones (No. 4 Toyota Tundra) won the 21 Means 21 Pole Award for the Drive to Stop Diabetes 300 with a lap of 15.331 seconds, 125.158 mph. He is the youngest NXS pole winner in BMS history (18 years, 10 months, 19 days). This is the No. 20 GameStop Toyota Camry driver's third pole in ten NXS races. It is his third pole and sixth top-10 NXS start in 2015 and his first pole in two races at BMS.
Did Not Qualify: NONE, only 40 entries for the 40 car field.
Winner: Sprint Cup regular Joey Logano won the Drive To Stop Diabetes 300, his 23rd victory in 138 NXS races. This is the No. 22 Discount Ford Mustang driver's second NXS victory and third top-10 finish in 2015. This is his second victory and seventh top-10 finish in nine NXS races at BMS. Logano led all 300 laps - a Bristol NXS race record. It was also a NXS record for most laps led in a race. Logano's win was the second straight victory for the No. 22 Ford at Bristol (Ryan Blaney, 8/22/14).

Contingency Awards - (Start, Finish, Points):
21 Means 21 Pole Award: Erik Jones, #20 125.158 mph (POLE, 4th, NE)
Duralast Brakes "Brake in the Race": Joey Logano, #22 (2nd, WINNER, NE)
Mahle Clevite Engine Builder of the Race: Roush-Yates Engines, #22
Mobil 1 Driver of the Race: Elliott Sadler, #1 (12th, 10th, 6th)
Sunoco Rookie of the Race: Daniel Suarez, #18 (9th, 2nd, 10th)
  NE=Not eligible for driver points in this series.

Standings: Chris Buescher and Ty Dillon are tied for the lead in the point standings (Buescher has one more top-five finish).

Top 10 (G/L):
1. Chris Buescher +1
2. Ty Dillon -1
3. Chase Elliott
4. Darrell Wallace Jr.
5. Ryan Reed
6. Elliott Sadler +1
7. Brendan Gaughan +1
8. Regan Smith -2
9. Brian Scott
10. Daniel Suarez

Next:  ToyotaCare 250, Friday, April 24 at Richmond International Raceway (0.75 mile asphalt oval in VA)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
NASCAR Camping World Truck Series

Standings: Matt Crafton leads the point standings by 2 points over Tyler Reddick.

Top 10 (G/L):
1. Matt Crafton +1
2. Tyler Reddick -1
3. Erik Jones
4. Johnny Sauter
5. James Buescher
6. John Wes Townley +6
7. Ray Black Jr. +1
8. Cameron Hayley +7
9. Spencer Gallagher +4
10. Ben Kennedy -3

Next: Kansas 250, Friday night, May 8 at Kansas Speedway (Kansas City, KS)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards
April 11, Troop Aid 200 at Fairgrounds Speedway (Nashville, TN)
Winner: Grant Enfinger --- Pole: Kyle Weatherman --- Points Leader: Grant Enfinger
Next: April 26, Federated Auto Parts 200 at Salem Speedway (0.555 mile asphalt oval in Indiana)
NASCAR Home Tracks
K&N Pro Series-East
April 18, PittLite 125 at Bristol (TN) Motor Speedway)
Winner: Kyle Benjamin --- Pole: Jesse Little --- Points Leader: William Byron
Next: May 16, Casey’s General Store 150 at Iowa Speedway (Newton, IA)

K&N Pro Series-West
April 11, King Taco Catering/ NAPA Auto Parts 150 at Irwindale Speedway (0.5 mile asphalt oval in CA)
Winner: Chris Eggleston --- Pole: Dalton Sargeant --- Points Leader: Dalton Sargeant
Next: May 2, Wildcat 150 at Tucson Speedway (0.375-mile asphalt oval in AZ)

Canadian Tire Series
2014 Canadian Tire Series Champion: L.P. Dumoulin
2014 Canadian Tire Series Rookie of the Year: Matthew Scannell
Season Premier: May 17 at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (near Bowmanville, Ontario)

Whelen Modified Tour
April 12, Icebreaker 150 at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park (0.625 mile asphalt oval in CT)
Winner: Doug Coby --- Pole: Doug Coby --- Points Leader: Doug Coby
Next: April 26, NAPA Spring Sizzler 200 at Stafford Motor Speedway (0.5 mile asphalt oval in CT)

Whelen Southern Modified Tour
April 11, Pepsi 150 at Langley Speedway (0.4 mile asphalt oval in Hampton, VA)
Winner: Burt Myers --- Pole:  George Brunnhoelzl III --- Points Leader: Burt Myers
Next: July 4, at Caraway Speedway (0.455-mile asphalt oval in Sophia, NC)

Mexico Series
April 12, Potosina 200 at Super Ovalo Potosina (San Luis Potosi, Mexico)
Winner: Ruben Rovelo --- Pole: Ruben Pardo --- Points Leader: Ruben Pardo
Next: April 26, Tuxtla 240 at Super Ovalo Chiapas (Tuxtla Gutierrez)

Anthony Ballantoni
Anthony Ballantoni is a Senior Sports Writer at Rotoworld.com.