Loading scores...

Wrapup: Bristol Motor Speedway

by Anthony Ballantoni
Updated On: October 4, 2018, 4:04 pm ET

The Bristol Motor Speedway (BMS) in Tennessee was the site of two NASCAR premier series races this past weekend. On Saturday, the XFINITY Series held it's 300-lap Fitzgerald Glider Kits 300 at the 0.533-mile concrete oval. On Sunday, weather was again a factor for the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series at "Thunder Valley". The start time for the 500-lap Food City 500 was moved up one hour because of impending rain. After several delays and red flags, the partially completed event was rescheduled for Monday afternoon. Again, on and off showers and even some sleet, interrupted the race. NASCAR was able to finally get in the full race. The Camping World Truck Series will return to action on Friday, May 4, with the JEGS 200 at Dover International Speedway. The results and upcoming scheduled events for the ARCA Racing Series, NASCAR Home Tracks and others are also shown below.

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series (MENCS)
Time Trials: Kyle Busch (No. 18 Skittles Toyota) won the Busch Pole Award Pole Award for the Food City 500 with a lap of 14.895 seconds, 128.822 mph. This is his 29th pole in 470 MENCS races and his second pole and sixth top-10 start in 2018. It is his second pole in 26 races at Bristol. Kurt Busch (second) posted his fifth top-10 start of 2018 and his 11th in 35 races at BMS. Brad Keselowski (third) posted his 11th top-10 start at BMS and his fourth in eight races this season. William Byron (11th) was the fastest qualifying Sunoco Rookie of the Year contender.
Did not qualify: No one. Only 39 cars entered for 40 spots in the lineup.

Results: Kyle Busch won the Food City 500, his 45th series victory. This is his second victory and seventh top-10 finish in 2018 and his seventh victory and 15th top-10 finish in 26 races at BMS. Kyle Larson (second) posted his fifth top-10 finish in nine races at BMS. It is his fourth top-10 finish in 2018. Jimmie Johnson (third) posted his 19th top-10 finish in 33 races at BMS. Darrell Wallace Jr. (16th) was the highest finishing Sunoco Rookie of the Year contender.

Standings: Kyle Busch leads the point standings by 59 points over Joey Logano.

Top 16 - Chase Contenders:
1. Kyle Busch
2. Joey Logano
3. Kevin Harvick
4. Clint Bowyer
5. Brad Keselowski
6. Ryan Blaney
7. Martin Truex Jr.
8. Denny Hamlin
9. Kyle Larson
10. Kurt Busch
11. Aric Almirola
12. Erik Jones
13. Alex Bowman
14. Austin Dillon
15. Ryan Newman
16. Paul Menard

Next: Saturday, April 21, Toyota Owners 400 at Richmond Raceway (0.75-mile oval in VA)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Time Trials: Cole Custer (No. 00 Haas Automation Ford) won the Pole Award for the Fitzgerald Glider Kits 300 with a lap of 15.09 seconds, 127.157 mph. This is his first pole in 45 NXS races and his first pole and sixth top-10 start in 2018. This is his first pole in three races at Bristol. Justin Allgaier (second) posted his fifth top-10 start of 2018 and his 13th in 15 races at BMS. Christopher Bell (third), the fastest qualifying Sunoco Rookie of the Year contender, posted his first top-10 start at BMS and his fifth in seven series races this season.
Did Not Qualify: No. 89 Morgan Shepherd.

Results: Ryan Preece (No. 18 Rheem Toyota) won the Fitzgerald Glider Kits 300, his second victory in 43 NXS races. This is his first victory and third top-10 finish in 2018. It is his first victory and first top-10 finish in three races at BMS. Justin Allgaier (second) posted his ninth top-10 finish in 15 races at BMS and his fifth top-10 series finish in 2018. Daniel Hemric (third) posted his third top-10 finish in three races at BMS. Tyler Reddick (seventh) was the highest finishing rookie. Pole-sitter Cole Custer led one lap and finished the 300-lap race in eighth place.

Standings: Elliott Sadler leads the point standings by 6 points over Daniel Hemric.

Top 12 - Chase Contenders:
1. Elliott Sadler
2. Daniel Hemric
3. Tyler Reddick
4. Justin Allgaier
5. Christopher Bell
6. Cole Custer
7. Ryan Truex
8. Spencer Gallagher
9. Brandon Jones
10. Ryan Reed
11. Matt Tifft
12. Ross Chastain

Next: Friday, April 20, ToyotaCare 250 at Richmond Raceway (0.75-mile oval in VA)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS)

Standings: Johnny Sauter leads the point standings by 29 points over Grant Enfinger.

Top 8 - Chase Contenders:
1. Johnny Sauter
2. Grant Enfinger
3. Brett Moffitt
4. Ben Rhodes
5. Noah Gragson
6. Stewart Friesen
7. Matt Crafton
8. Myatt Snider

Next: Friday, May 4, JEGS 200 at Dover Int’l Speedway (1-mile concrete oval in Delaware)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards
April 7, Music City 200 at Fairgrounds Speedway in Nashville, TN
Winner: Zane Smith -Pole: Chandler Smith -Points Leader: Michael Self
Next: April 22, Kentuckiana Ford Dealers 200 at Salem Speedway (0.555-mile oval in Indiana)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
NASCAR Home Tracks
K&N Pro Series-East
April 14, Zombie Auto 150 at Bristol (TN) Motor Speedway
Winner: Todd Gilliland -Pole: Noah Gragson –Points Leader: Todd Gilliland
Next: April 28, Visit Hampton VA 150 at Larry King Law’s Langley Speedway (0.4-mile oval in Hampton, VA)

K&N Pro Series-West
March 15 at Kern County Raceway Park (0.5-mile oval in Bakersfield, CA)
Winner: Derek Kraus -Pole: Kevin Harvick –Points Leader: Derek Kraus
Next: May 5, Twin 100-lap features at Tucson Speedway (0.375-mile oval in AZ)

Pinty’s Series
Season-opener: May 20 at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (2.459-mile road course near Bowmanville, Ontario)

Whelen Modified Tour
April 8, Icebreaker 150 at Thompson (CT) Speedway Motorsports Park
Winner: Justin Bonsignore -Pole: Ronnie Williams –Points Leader: Justin Bonsignore
Next: April 29, NAPA Spring Sizzler at Stafford Motor Speedway (0.5-mile oval in Stafford Springs, CT)

Peak Mexico Series
March 25 at Autódromo Monterrey (1.0-mile oval in Monterrey, Mexico)
Winner: Homero Richards -Pole: Salvador de Alba Jr. –Points Leader: Homero Richards
Next: April 22 at the Autodromo Potosino (0.5-mile oval in San Luis Potosi, Mexico)

Other Series
Southern Modified Racing Series
April 14, Twin 50's at Caraway Speedway in Sophia, NC
Race 1 Winner: Jeremy Gerstner -Pole: Burt Myers
Race 2 Winner: Tim Brown -Pole: Dan Clatterbuck
Next: May 25 at Concord Speedway (0.5-mile tri-oval in Midland, NC)

Anthony Ballantoni

Anthony Ballantoni is a Senior Sports Writer at NBC Sports Edge.