Loading scores...

Wrapup: Richmond Int'l Raceway

by Anthony Ballantoni
Updated On: October 4, 2018, 4:04 pm ET

On the final race weekend before the Chase to the Sprint Cup, the Richmond International Raceway in Virginia was the site of three nights of racing. Thursday night, the K&N Pro Series ran the rain-shortened UNOH 100. On Friday night, the XFINITY Series took its turn at the .75-mile short track oval. The Sprint Cup held its ‘last-chance’ regular season event on Saturday night. All three top series return to the track next weekend at Chicagoland Speedway. The Sprint Cup begins the Chase with the Challenger Round. The 16 drivers who have earned a spot in the Chase will compete at Chicagoland Speedway, New Hampshire Motor Speedway and Dover International Speedway for the 12 spots available in the next round (the Contender Round). A win at any of the three races automatically advances driver to the next round. The rest of the field of 12 will be determined by order of points scored in the three races. After this round, each advancing driver will be reset to 3,000 points.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (NSCS)
Time Trials:
Joey Logano (No. 22 Shell Pennzoil Ford Fusion) won the Coors Light Pole Award for the Federated Auto Parts 400 with a lap of 21.349 seconds, 126.470 mph. This is his 13th pole in 245 NSCS races. It is his fifth pole and 19th top-10 start in 2015. This is Logano's second pole in 14 races at Richmond. He also won the pole for the first Richmond race of 2015. Logano led 25 laps and finished the 400-lap race in third place.
Did Not Qualify: No. 30 Josh Wise and No. 62 Timmy Hill.
Winner: Matt Kenseth (No. 20 Dollar General Toyota Camry) won the Federated Auto Parts 400, his 35th victory in 570 NSCS races. This is his fourth victory and 16th top-10 finish in 2015. It is his second victory and 15th top-10 finish in 32 races at Richmond International Raceway. Kenseth's 352 laps led were the second-highest total of his career (415, Bristol-2 in 2005).

Contingency Awards - (Start, Finish, Seeded Points):
Coors Light Pole Award: Joey Logano #22, 126.47 mph (POLE, 3rd, 4th)
3M Lap Leader: Matt Kenseth #20, 352 Laps (2nd, WINNER, 3rd)
American Ethanol Green Flag Restart Award: Matt Kenseth #20
Duralast Brakes "Brake in the Race": Matt Kenseth #20
Mahle Clevite Engine Builder: Toyota Racing Development (TRD) #20
Mobil 1 Driver of the Race: Matt Kenseth #20
Sherwin-Williams Fastest Lap: Matt Kenseth #20
Ingersoll Rand Power Move: Brian Scott #33, 5 positions (17th, 22nd, NE)
Moog Problem Solver of the Race: Dale Earnhardt Jr. #88, Greg Ives, .154 seconds (29th, 5th, 6th)
Sunoco Rookie of the Race: Brett Moffitt #34 (37th, 35th, 34th)
  NE=Not eligible for driver points in this series.

Standings: Three-way tie for the lead in the Seeded Points to begin the Chase: Jimmie Johnson, Kyle Busch and Matt Kenseth.

Top 16 – Challenger Round:
1. Jimmie Johnson 2012
2. Kyle Busch 2012
3. Matt Kenseth 2012
4. Joey Logano 2009
5. Kevin Harvick 2006
6. Dale Earnhardt Jr. 2006
7. Kurt Busch 2006
8. Carl Edwards 2006
9. Brad Keselowski 2003
10. Martin Truex Jr. 2003
11. Denny Hamlin 2003
12. Jamie McMurray 2000

(13-16 will be eliminated from the Chase after the October 4 race at Dover)
13. Jeff Gordon 2000
14. Ryan Newman 2000
15. Paul Menard 2000
16. Clint Bowyer 2000

Next: Sunday, September 20 - myAFibRisk.com 400 at Chicagoland Speedway (1.5-mile tri-oval in Joliet, IL)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Time Trials:
Sprint Cup driver Kyle Busch won the Coors Light Pole Award for the Virginia529 College Savings 250 with a lap of 22.118 seconds, 122.073 mph. This is the No. 54 Monster Energy Toyota driver's 45th pole in 304 NXS races. It is his second pole and fifth top-10 NXS start in 2015. This is Busch's fifth pole in 20 NXS races at Richmond. He led 78 laps and finished the 250-lap event in second place.
Did Not Qualify: No. 89 Morgan Shepherd.
Winner: Chase Elliott (No. 9 NAPA Auto Parts Chevrolet) won the Virginia529 College Savings 250, his fourth victory in 58 NXS races. This is the JR Motorsports driver's first victory and 20th top-10 finish in 2015. He broke a 39-race winless drought with the victory. This is his first win and fourth top-10 finish in four races at Richmond. Elliott, who started sixth in the lineup for the race, led the most laps (83 of 250 run).

Contingency Awards - (Start, Finish, Points):
Coors Light Pole Award: Kyle Busch #54, 122.073 mph (POLE, 2nd, NE)
Duralast Brakes "Brake in the Race": Kyle Busch #54
3M Lap Leader: Chase Elliott #9, 83 Laps (6th, WINNER, 2nd)
Mahle Clevite Engine Builder: Hendrick Engines #9
Mobil 1 Driver of the Race: Chris Buescher #60 (13th, 10th, LEADER)
Sunoco Rookie of the Race: Daniel Suarez #18 (10th, 12th, 8th)
  NE=Not eligible for driver points in this series.

Standings: Chris Buescher leads the point standings by 21 points over Chase Elliott.

Top 10 (G/L):
1. Chris Buescher
2. Chase Elliott +1
3. Ty Dillon -1
4. Regan Smith
5. Elliott Sadler
6. Brian Scott +2
7. Darrell Wallace Jr. -1
8. Daniel Suarez -1
9. Brendan Gaughan
10. Ryan Reed

Next: Saturday, September 19 - Furious 7 300 at Chicagoland Speedway (1.5-mile tri-oval in Joliet, IL)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS)

Standings: Erik Jones leads the point standings by 3 points over Matt Crafton.

Top 10 (G/L):
1. Erik Jones +2
2. Matt Crafton
3. Tyler Reddick -2
4. Johnny Sauter
5. Daniel Hemric
6. Cameron Hayley
7. Timothy Peters
8. John Wes Townley
9. Spencer Gallagher
10. Ben Kennedy

Next: Friday, September 18 – American Ethanol 225 at Chicagoland Speedway (1.5-mile tri-oval in Joliet, IL)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards
September 7 – Southern Illinois 100 at DuQuoin (IL) State Fairgrounds (1-mile clay oval in Illinois)
Winner: Grant Enfinger --- Pole: Grant Enfinger --- Points Leader: Grant Enfinger
Next: September 19 - Federated Car Care Fall Classic 200 at Salem Speedway (0.555-mile paved oval in Indiana)
NASCAR Home Tracks
K&N Pro Series-East
September 10 - UNOH 100 at Richmond International Raceway (0.75-mile paved oval in VA)
Winner: Austin Hill --- Pole: No time trials (rain) --- Points Leader: William Byron
Season Finale: October 2 – Drive Sober 125 at Dover International Speedway (1-mile concrete oval in Delaware)

K&N Pro Series-West
September 5 - NAPA Auto Parts Idaho 208 at Meridian (ID) Speedway (0.25-mile paved oval in Idaho)
Winner: Noah Gragson --- Pole: Noah Gragson --- Points Leader: Noah Gragson
Next: October 17 – NAPA 150 at All American Speedway (0.333-mile paved oval in Roseville, CA)

Canadian Tire Series
August 30 – at the Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (2.459-mile road course near Bowmanville, Ontario)
Winner: Jason Hathaway --- Pole: Andrew Ranger --- Points Leader: Scott Steckly
Season Finale: September 19 – Pinty’s 200 at Kawartha Speedway (0.375-mile paved oval in Fraserville, Ontario)

Whelen Modified Tour
August 29 – Riverhead 200 at Riverhead Raceway (0.25-mile paved oval in New York)
Winner: Justin Bonsignore --- Pole: Tom Rogers Jr. --- Points Leader: Ryan Preece
Next: September 26 - F.W. Webb 100 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway (1.058-mile paved oval in Loudon, NH)

Whelen Southern Modified Tour
September 5 – Bayport Credit Union 150 at Langley Speedway (0.4 mile paved oval in Hampton, VA)
Winner: George Brunnhoelzl III --- Pole: George Brunnhoelzl III --- Points Leader: Jason Myers
Next: September 19 – South Boston 150 at South Boston Speedway (0.4 mile paved oval in VA)

Anthony Ballantoni

Anthony Ballantoni is a Senior Sports Writer at NBC Sports Edge.