Loading scores...

Wrapup: Richmond Raceway

by Anthony Ballantoni
Updated On: October 4, 2018, 4:04 pm ET

Richmond Raceway in Virgina hosted the XFINITY Series 250-lap Virginia 529 College Savings 250 on Friday night and the Monster Energy Cup Series 404-lap (four-lap overtime) Federated Auto Parts 400 on Saturday night. The Cup event was the final regular season race. Martin Truex Jr., winner of the regular season, is seeded first in the 10 MENCS playoff races. The Camping World Truck Series will return to action this coming weekend at Chicagoland Speedway. The results and upcoming scheduled events for the ARCA Racing Series, NASCAR Home Tracks and other covered series are also shown below.

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series (MENCS)
Time Trials: Matt Kenseth (No. 20 Hurricane Harvey Relief Toyota) won the Coors Light Pole Award for the Federated Auto Parts 400 with a lap of 122.421 mph. This is his 20th pole in 640 MENCS races. It is his second pole and 15th top-10 start in 2017 and his third pole in 36 races at Richmond Raceway. Denny Hamlin (second) posted his 15th top-10 start of 2017 and his 14th in 23 races at Richmond. Kurt Busch (third) posted his 11th top-10 start at Richmond. It is his ninth in 26 races this season. Erik Jones (10th) was the fastest qualifying Rookie of the Year contender.     
Did not qualify: No one. 39 cars entered for 40 spots in the lineup.

Results: Kyle Larson (No. 42 Target Chevrolet) won the Federated Auto Parts 400, his fifth victory in 137 MENCS races. This is his fourth victory and 15th top-10 finish in 2017. It is his first victory and second top-10 finish in eight races at Richmond Raceway. Joey Logano (second) posted his 10th top-10 finish in 18 races at Richmond and his 12th top-10 finish in 2017. Ryan Newman (third) posted his 18th top-10 finish in 32 races at Richmond. Erik Jones (sixth) was the highest finishing Rookie of the Year contender.

Standings: Martin Truex Jr. leads the point standings.

MENCS Round of 16 Chase Field (Re-seeded Points):
1. Martin Truex Jr. 2053
2. Kyle Larson 2033
3. Kyle Busch 2029
4. Brad Keselowski 2019
5. Jimmie Johnson 2017
6. Kevin Harvick 2015
7. Denny Hamlin 2013
8. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 2010
9. Ryan Blaney 2008
10. Chase Elliott 2006
11. Ryan Newman 2005
12. Kurt Busch 2005
After the next three races (Chicagoland,Loudon,Dover), the bottom four in the point standings will not advance to the Round of 12.
13. Kasey Kahne 2005
14. Austin Dillon 2005
15. Matt Kenseth 2005
16. Jamie McMurray 2003

Next: Sunday, Sept. 17, Tales of the Turtles 400 at Chicagoland Speedway (1.5-mile tri-oval in Joliet, IL)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Time Trials: MENCS regular Kyle Busch, driving the No. 18 NOS Energy Drink Toyota, won the Coors Light Pole Award for the Virginia529 College Savings 250 with a lap of 119.268 mph. This is his 64th pole in 338 NXS races. It is his seventh pole and eighth top-10 NXS start in 2017 and his sixth pole in 22 NXS races at Richmond Raceway. Brennan Poole (second) posted his 14th top-10 start of 2017 and his fourth in six races at Richmond. Cup driver Brad Keselowski (third) posted his 12th top-10 NXS start at Richmond. It is his eighth in nine NXS races this season. Cole Custer (fourth) was the fastest qualifying Rookie of the Year contender.  
Did not qualify: No. 89 Morgan Shepherd.

Results: MENCS regular Brad Keselowski, driving the No. 22 Fitzgerald Glider Kits Ford Mustang, won the Virginia529 College Savings 250, his 36th victory in 249 NXS races. This is his second victory and ninth NXS top-10 finish in 2017. It is his fourth victory and 10th top-10 finish in 17 NXS races at Richmond Raceway. Pole-sitter Kyle Busch (second) led a race-high 182 laps and posted his 19th top-10 finish in 22 NXS races at Richmond. Ty Dillon (third), another Cup driver, posted his seventh top-10 finish in ten NXS races at Richmond. Daniel Hemric (fourth) was the highest finishing Rookie of the Year contender.

Standings: Elliott Sadler leads the point standings by 95 points over William Byron.

Top 12 - Chase Contenders:
1. Elliott Sadler
2. William Byron
3. Justin Allgaier
4. Daniel Hemric
5. Brennan Poole
6. Cole Custer
7. Matt Tifft
8. Blake Koch
9. Ryan Reed
10. Michael Annett
11. Brendan Gaughan
12. Dakoda Armstrong

Next: Saturday, Sept. 16, Chicagoland 300 at Chicagoland Speedway
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS)

Standings: Christopher Bell leads the point standings by 30 points over Johnny Sauter.

Top 8 - Chase Contenders:
1. Christopher Bell
2. Johnny Sauter
3. Matt Crafton
4. Chase Briscoe
5. Ben Rhodes
6. Ryan Truex
7. Grant Enfinger
8. John Hunter Nemechek

Next: Friday, Sept. 15, Chicagoland 225 at Chicagoland Speedway
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
NASCAR Home Tracks
K&N Pro Series-East: Sept. 4 at Langley Speedway in Hampton, VA
Pole: Todd Gilliland ... Winner: Todd Gilliland ... Points Leader: Todd Gilliland
Next: Sept. 16, JustDrive.com 125 at New Jersey Motorsports Park (2.3-mile road course in Millville, NJ)

K&N Pro Series-West: Aug. 26, Clint Newell Toyota 150 at Douglas County Speedway in Roseburg, OR
Pole: Chris Eggleston ... Winner: Todd Gilliland ... Points Leader: Todd Gilliland
Next: Sept. 30, NAPA Auto Parts Idaho 208 at Meridian Speedway (0.25-mile oval in Idaho)

Pinty’s Series: Sept. 9, Lucas Oil 250 at Autodrome St. Eustache in St. Eustache, Quebec
Pole: Kevin Lacroix ... Winner: Alex Labbe ... Points Leader: Alex Labbe
Season Finale: Sept. 23, Jukasa 200 at Jukasa Motor Speedway (0.625-mile oval in Hagersville, Ontario
2017 Jostens Rookie of the Year: Adam Martin (clinched on September 3)

Whelen Modified Tour: Sept. 2, Toyota Mod Classic 150 at Oswego (NY) Speedway
Pole: Matt Hirschman ... Winner: Ryan Preece ... Points Leader: Ryan Preece
Next: Sept. 16, Riverhead 200 at Riverhead Raceway (0.25-mile oval in New York)

Peak Mexico Series: Sept. 10 at Triovalo Internacional de Cajititlan in Jalisco, Mexico
Pole: Abraham Calderon ... Winner: Abraham Calderon
Next: Oct. 1 at Super Ovalo Chiapas (0.75-mile tri-oval in Tuxtla Gutierrez)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Other Series
ARCA Racing Series: Sept. 9, Eddie Gilstrap Motors Fall Classic 200 at Salem Speedway in Indiana
Pole: Zane Smith ... Winner: Austin Theriault ... Points Leader: Austin Theriault
Next: Sept. 14, Scott 150 at Chicagoland Speedway (1.5-mile tri-oval in Joliet, IL)

Southern Modified Racing Series: Sept. 9, Twin-50s at Caraway Speedway in Sophia, NC
First Twin-50 winner: Tim Brown ... Second Twin-50 winner: Burt Myers
Next: Sept. 16 at Concord Speedway (0.5-mile tri-oval in Concord, NC)

EXIT Realty Modified Touring Series: Sept. 9, Waterford 125 at New London-Waterford (CT) Speedbowl
Pole: Richard Savary ... Winner: Eric Goodale ... Points Leader: Woody Pitkat
Next: Sept. 16 at Monadnock Speedway (0.25-mile oval in Winchester, NH)

Anthony Ballantoni

Anthony Ballantoni is a Senior Sports Writer at NBC Sports Edge.