Loading scores...

Wrapup: Road America & CTMP

by Anthony Ballantoni
Updated On: October 4, 2018, 4:04 pm ET

The Sprint Cup Series took a break (returns next week at Darlington Raceway) but there was racing action throughout the weekend in the other series. The Road America 4-mile road course in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin was the site of NASCAR’s XFINITY Series race on Saturday. Also on Saturday, the NASCAR K&N Pro Series-East ran its feature at the VIRginia International Raceway and the Whelen Modified tour was busy at New York’s Riverhead Raceway.  North of the border in Bowmanville, Ontario on Sunday, more road course racing was on tap at the 2.5-mile Canadian Tire Motorsport Park with the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series and Canadian Tire Series races.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (NSCS)

Standings: Kevin Harvick leads the point standings by 43 points over Joey Logano.

Top 16 - Chase Contenders (G/L):
1. Kevin Harvick
2. Joey Logano
3. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
4. Brad Keselowski +1
5. Jimmie Johnson +1
6. Martin Truex Jr. -2
7. Matt Kenseth
8. Kurt Busch
9. Denny Hamlin
10. Jamie McMurray
11. Ryan Newman +1
12. Paul Menard -1
13. Jeff Gordon
14. Carl Edwards
15. Clint Bowyer
16. Aric Almirola

Next: Sunday, September 6 - Bojangles' Southern 500 at Darlington Raceway (1.366-mile paved oval in South Carolina)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Time Trials:
No time trials – rain. Field was set by order of first practice session. Ben Rhodes (No. 88 Alpha Energy Solutions Chevrolet Camaro) started on the pole. His JR Motorsports teammate, Chase Elliott (No. 9 NAPA Auto Parts Chevrolet Camaro) started alongside on the front row. Rhodes completed 41 laps and finished the 45-lap race in 32nd place.
Did Not Qualify: NONE, only 40 entries for the 40 car field.
Winner: Sprint Cup driver Paul Menard won the Road America 180 Fired Up by Johnsonville, his third victory in 197 NXS races. This is the No. 33 Richmond/Menards Chevrolet Camaro driver's first victory and fifth top-10 NXS finish in 2015. It is his first victory and first top-10 finish in two NXS races at Road America. Menard started eighth in the lineup and led nine of the 45 laps run on the 4.048-mile road course in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin.

Contingency Awards - (Start, Finish, Points):
3M Lap Leader: Chase Elliott #9, 23 laps (2nd, 4th, 2nd)
Mahle Clevite Engine Builder of the Race: Hendrick Engines #9
Laps Duralast Brakes "Brake in the Race": Justin Marks #42 (4th, 7th, 38th)
Mobil 1 Driver of the Race: Darrell Wallace Jr. #6 (17th, 5th, 6th)
Sunoco Rookie of the Race: Darrell Wallace Jr. #6

Standings: Chris Buescher leads the point standings by 16 points over Chase Elliott.

Top 10 (G/L):
1. Chris Buescher
2. Chase Elliott +1
3. Ty Dillon -1
4. Regan Smith
5. Elliott Sadler
6. Darrell Wallace Jr. +1
7. Brian Scott +1
8. Daniel Suarez -2
9. Brendan Gaughan
10. Ryan Reed

Next: Saturday, September 5 - VFW Sport Clips Help A Hero 200 at Darlington Raceway (1.366-mile paved oval in South Carolina)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS)
Time Trials:
Canadian Tire Series driver Alex Tagliani won the Keystone Light 21 means 21 Pole Award for the Chevrolet Silverado 250 with a lap of 80.084 seconds, 110.539 mph. This is the No. 29 Cooper Standard Ford F-150 driver's second pole in two NCWTS races. This is his first pole and first top-10 NCWTS start in 2015. It is his second pole in two NCWTS races at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. Tagliani led eight laps and finished the 64-lap race in fifth place.
Did Not Qualify: None, only 32 entered for 32 truck field.
Winner: Erik Jones (No. 4 Toyota Tundra) won the Chevrolet Silverado 250, his sixth victory in 32 NCWTS races. This is his second victory and 12th top-10 finish in 2015. It is his first victory and second top-10 finish in two races at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park in Bowmanville, Ontario. With the victory, Jones takes over the lead in 2015 NCWTS championship standings. He leads Matt Crafton by three points.

Contingency Awards - (Start, Finish, Points):
Keystone Light Pole Award: Alex Tagliani #29, 110.539 mph (POLE, 5th, NE)
Mobil 1 Driver of the Race: Erik Jones #4 (2nd, WINNER, LEADER)
Sunoco Rookie of the Race: Erik Jones #4
Mahle Clevite Engine Builder of the Race: Joe Gibbs Engines #4
  NE=Not eligible for driver points in this series.

Standings: Erik Jones leads the point standings by 3 points over Matt Crafton.

Top 10 (G/L):
1. Erik Jones +2
2. Matt Crafton
3. Tyler Reddick -2
4. Johnny Sauter
5. Daniel Hemric
6. Cameron Hayley
7. Timothy Peters
8. John Wes Townley
9. Spencer Gallagher
10. Ben Kennedy

Next: Friday, September 18 – American Ethanol 225 at Chicagoland Speedway (1.5-mile tri-oval in Joliet, IL)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards
August 23 - SuperChevyStores.com-Allen Crowe 100 at Illinois State Fairgrounds (1-mile clay oval in Springfield, IL)
Winner: A.J. Fike --- Pole: No time trials-rain --- Points Leader: Grant Enfinger
Next: September 7 – Southern Illinois 100 at DuQuoin (IL) State Fairgrounds (1-mile clay oval in Illinois)
NASCAR Home Tracks
K&N Pro Series-East
August 29 - Biscuitville 125 at VIRginia International Raceway (2.25-mile road course in Alton, VA)
Winner: Sergio Pena --- Pole: Scott Heckert --- Points Leader: William Byron
Next: September 10 - UNOH 100 at Richmond International Raceway (0.75-mile paved oval in VA)

K&N Pro Series-West
August 22 – NAPA/Toyota 150 at Colorado National Speedway (0.375-mile paved oval in Dacono, CO)
Winner: Ryan Partridge --- Pole: Ryan Partridge --- Points Leader: Chris Eggleston / Ryan Partridge (tied)
Next: September 5 - NAPA Auto Parts Idaho 208 at Meridian (ID) Speedway (0.25-mile paved oval in Idaho)

Canadian Tire Series
August 30 – at the Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (2.459-mile road course near Bowmanville, Ontario)
Winner: Jason Hathaway --- Pole: Andrew Ranger --- Points Leader: Scott Steckly
Season Finale: September 19 – Pinty’s 200 at Kawartha Speedway (0.375-mile paved oval in Fraserville, Ontario)

Whelen Modified Tour
August 29 – Riverhead 200 at Riverhead Raceway (0.25-mile paved oval in New York)
Winner: Justin Bonsignore --- Pole: Tom Rogers Jr. --- Points Leader: Ryan Preece
Next: September 26 - F.W. Webb 100 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway (1.058-mile paved oval in Loudon, NH)

Whelen Southern Modified Tour
August 19 - Bush’s Beans 150 (N/S Combo) at Bristol Motor Speedway (0.533-mile concrete oval in Tennessee)
Top WSMT winner: Andy Seuss (finished 6th) --- Top WSMT qualifier: Gary Putnam (11th) --- Points Leader: Jason Myers
Next: September 5 – Bayport Credit Union 150 at Langley Speedway (0.4 mile paved oval in Hampton, VA)

Anthony Ballantoni

Anthony Ballantoni is a Senior Sports Writer at NBC Sports Edge.