Loading scores...

Wrapup: Sonoma & Gateway

by Anthony Ballantoni
Updated On: October 4, 2018, 4:04 pm ET

On Saturday night, the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series held its Drivin’ for Linemen 200 at the 1.25-mile oval Gateway Motorsports Park in Madison, IL. On Sunday, the Sprint Cup Series drivers turned left and right on the California road course, the 1.99-mile Sonoma Raceway, competing in the Toyota/Save Mart 350. The XFINITY Series will return to action on July 1st with the Subway Firecracker 250 at Daytona. The results and upcoming scheduled events for the ARCA Racing Series and the NASCAR Home Tracks are also shown below.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (NSCS)
Time Trials:
Carl Edwards (#19 Stanley Toyota Camry) won the Coors Light Pole Award for the Toyota/Save Mart 350 with a lap of 95.777 mph. This is his 19th pole in 425 NSCS races. It is his third pole and 12th top-10 start in 2016 and his first pole in 12 races at Sonoma Raceway. AJ Allmendinger (second) posted his fourth top-10 start of 2016 and his fourth in eight races at Sonoma. Martin Truex Jr.(third) posted his fourth top-10 start at Sonoma. It is his 10th in 16 races this season. Chase Elliott (16th) was the fastest qualifying rookie. Edwards led 24 laps and finished the 110-lap race in fourth place.
Did Not Qualify: #55 Cody Ware.
Winner: Tony Stewart (#14 Code 3 Assoc/Mobil 1 Chevrolet SS) won the Toyota/Save Mart 350, his 49th victory in 598 NSCS races. This is his first victory and third top-10 finish in 2016. It is his third victory and 10th top-10 finish in 18 races at Sonoma Raceway. Stewart's last win was at Dover on June 2, 2013. He is now 32nd in the point standings, nine points out of 30th place and a spot in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup. Denny Hamlin (second) posted his third top-10 finish in 11 races at Sonoma. It is his seventh top-10 finish in 2016. Joey Logano (third) posted his fourth top-10 finish in eight races at Sonoma.

Contingency Awards - (Start, Finish, Points):
Mobil 1 Driver of the Race: Tony Stewart #14 (10th, WINNER, 32nd)
Coors Light Pole Award: Carl Edwards #19, 95.777 mph (POLE, 4th, 3rd)
Duralast Brakes "Brake in the Race": Carl Edwards #19
Sherwin-Williams Fastest Lap: Carl Edwards
Ingersoll Rand Power Move: AJ Allmendinger #47, 7 positions (2nd, 14th, 18th)
Mahle Engine Builder: Toyota Racing Development, Denny Hamlin's #11 (6th, 2nd, 11th)
Moog Problem Solver: Kasey Kahne #5, C.C.: K Rodden, 0.351 secs (19th, 9th, 16th)
American Ethanol Green Flag Restart Award: Kyle Busch #18 (8th, 7th, 9th)
Sunoco Rookie of the Race: Chase Elliott #24 (16th, 21st, 6th)

Standings: Kevin Harvick leads the point standings by 35 points over Kurt Busch.

Top 16 - Chase Contenders (G/L):
1. Kevin Harvick
2. Kurt Busch
3. Carl Edwards +1
4. Brad Keselowski -1
5. Joey Logano
6. Chase Elliott
7. Jimmie Johnson
8. Martin Truex Jr.
9. Kyle Busch
10. Matt Kenseth
11. Denny Hamlin +2
12. Dale Earnhardt Jr. -1
13. Ryan Newman +2
14. Austin Dillon -2
15. Jamie McMurray -1
16. Kasey Kahne +1

Next: Saturday, July 2, Coke Zero 400 at Daytona International Speedway (2.5-mile tri-oval in Daytona Beach, FL)
 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Standings: Daniel Suarez leads the point standings by 21 points over Elliott Sadler.

Top 12 - Chase Contenders (G/L):
1. Daniel Suarez
2. Elliott Sadler
3. Ty Dillon
4. Justin Allgaier +1
5. Brandon Jones +1
6. Brendan Gaughan +1
7. Erik Jones -3
8. Brennan Poole
9. Darrell Wallace Jr.
10. Ryan Reed
11. Blake Koch
12. Ryan Sieg

Next: Friday, July 1, Subway Firecracker 250 at Daytona International Speedway (2.5-mile tri-oval in Daytona Beach, FL)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS)
Time Trials:
Qualifying was cancelled due to weather conditions. The lineup was set by the order of practice speeds. Ben Rhodes (#41 Toyota Tundra) led both practices and will start P1 for the race. Johnny Sauter (#21 Alamo Chevrolet Silverado) started second.
Did Not Qualify: NONE, only 32 entries for the 32 truck field.
Winner: Christopher Bell (#4 Toyota Tundra) won the Drivin' for Linemen 200, his second victory in 16 NCWTS races. This is his first victory and fifth top-10 finish in 2016. It is also Bell's first victory on asphalt (first at Eldora Speedway's dirt track in 2015). With the victory, Kyle Busch Motorsports ties Roush Fenway Racing for the all-time NCWTS wins lead, with 50 victories. Ben Rhodes (second) scored his career-best finish. It is his fourth top-10 finish in 2016. Daniel Hemric (third) posted his second top-10 finish in two races at Gateway Motorsports Park.

Contingency Awards - (Start, Finish, Points):
Sunoco Rookie of the Race: Christopher Bell #4 (9th, WINNER, 9th)
Mobil 1 Driver of the Race: Christopher Bell
Mahle Clevite Engine Builder: Joe Gibbs Engines, Bell's #4

Standings: William Byron leads the point standings by 1 point over Matt Crafton.

Top 8 - Chase Contenders (G/L):
1. William Byron +1
2. Matt Crafton -1
3. Timothy Peters
4. Daniel Hemric
5. Johnny Sauter +1
6. John Hunter Nemechek +2
7. Ben Kennedy
8. Tyler Reddick -3

Next: Thursday, July 7, Buckle Up in Your Truck 225 at Kentucky Speedway (1.5-mile tri-oval in Sparta, KY)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards
June 26, Herr’s Potato Chips 200 at Winchester Speedway (0.5-mile oval in IN)
Winner: Chase Briscoe  -Pole: Chase Briscoe -Points Leader: Chase Briscoe
Next: July 9, Casey’s General Stores 150 at Iowa Speedway (0.875-mile oval in Newton, IA)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
NASCAR Home Tracks
K&N Pro Series-East
June 17, Stafford 150 at Stafford Motor Speedway (0.5-mile oval in Stafford Springs, CT)
Winner:  Noah Gragson -Pole: John Holleman IV -Points Leader: Justin Haley
Next: July 2, NAPA 150 at Columbus Motor Speedway (0.333-mile oval in Ohio)

K&N Pro Series-West
June 25, Chevy's Fresh Mex 200 at Sonoma Raceway (1.99-mile road course in California)
Winner: Chase Elliott  -Pole: Chase Elliott  -Points Leader: Ryan Partridge
Next: July 9, Toyota/NAPA Auto Parts 150 at Stateline Speedway (0.25-mile oval in Post Falls, ID)

Pinty’s Series
June 24, CRS Express 300 at Autodrome Chaudiere (0.25-mile oval in Vallee-Jonction, Quebec)
Winner: Alex Labbe   -Pole: Alex Labbe  -Points Leader: Cayden Lapcevich
Next: July 3, ICAR 100 at Circuit ICAR (2.125-mile road course in Mirabel, Quebec)

Whelen Modified Tour
June 25, Riverhead 200 at Riverhead Raceway (0.25-mile oval in New York)
Winner: Timmy Solomito  -Pole: Doug Coby -Points Leader: Doug Coby
Next: July 16, New England 100 at  New Hampshire Motor Speedway (1.058-mile oval in Loudon, NH)

Whelen Southern Modified Tour
April 16, Dogwood 150 at Caraway Speedway (0.455-mile oval in Sophia, NC)
Winner: Burt Myers -Pole: Danny Bohn -Points Leader: Burt Myers
Next: July 1, Caraway 150 at Caraway Speedway (0.455-mile oval in Sophia, NC)

Anthony Ballantoni

Anthony Ballantoni is a Senior Sports Writer at NBC Sports Edge.