Joe Burrow
Odds and Ends

2020 Pre-NFL Draft OROY odds: Burrow on top

Updated On: April 21, 2020, 5:17 pm ET

Who are the favorites to win NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year?

Quarterback Joe Burrow is the betting favorite to be selected first overall in the draft by the Cincinnati Bengals and he's also at the top of the NFL betting odds board to win Offensive Rookie of the Year in 2020.

The Bengals were the worst team in the league last year but have three good wide receivers to help the Heisman winner as well as a productive running back in Joe Mixon. With offensive tackle Jonah Williams, their first-round draft pick from 2019, returning to the field after missing his first season with a shoulder injury, Burrow might have a better supporting cast than many think. 

Running backs after often able to jump right in and produce as rookies, so it's little surprise to see the two top RB prospects so high in the NFL prop odds for this award. D'Andre Swift (+750) and Jonathan Taylor (+850) could both make an immediate impact and are expected to be late first-round or second-round selections which means they could wind up on Super Bowl contenders.



2020 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year Odds

Player Position Odds
Joe Burrow QB +225
D'Andre Swift RB +750
Tua Tagovailoa QB +750
Jonathan Taylor RB +850
Jerry Jeudy WR +1,100
CeeDee Lamb WR +1,200
Justin Herbert QB +1,400
J.K. Dobbins RB +1,600
Clyde Edwards-Helaire RB +1,800
Henry Ruggs III WR +2,000
Cam Akers RB +2,000
Tee Higgins WR +2,200
Denzel Mims WR +2,200
Justin Jefferson WR +2,500
Jalen Reagor WR +2,500
Zack Moss RB +2,500
Jordan Love QB +3,000


NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year Betting Trends

• Of the last 16 winners of the NFL OROY Award, 13 were drafted in the first round.

• While quarterback is an extremely difficult position to excel at as a rookie, eight of the last 16 OROY winners played the position, including four QBs that were selected first overall in the draft.

• Running backs have won four of the last seven NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year Awards. However, in recent years when top rookie RBs have gone head-to-head against top QBs for OROY honors, they've often come out on the losing end. Ezekiel Elliot led the NFL in rushing in 2016 but lost the OROY to his teammate Dak Prescott, while last year Kyler Murray took home the hardware over Josh Jacobs, who rushed for 1150 yards and 4.8 YPA in 13 games. 

• No offensive lineman has ever won the award despite recent linemen like Joe Thomas, Matt Kalil, Jack Conklin, Ryan Ramcyzk and Quenton Nelson all making the Pro Bowl in their first year. While this year's draft class is loaded with excellent prospects at offensive tackle don't expect them to make an impression on Rookie of the Year voters.


Who has won the NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year?

A quick look at the NFL OROY winners since 2004, the position they played and where they were drafted.

Year NFL OROY Award Winner Position Drafted
2019 Kyler Murray QB Round 1, pick 1
2018 Saquon Barkey RB Round 1, pick 2
2017 Alvin Kamara RB Round 3, pick 67
2016 Dak Prescott QB Round 4, pick 135
2015 Todd Gurley RB Round 1, pick 10
2014 Odell Beckham Jr. WR Round 1, pick 12
2013 Eddie Lacy RB Round 2, pick 61
2012 Robert Griffin III QB Round 1, pick 2
2011 Cam Newton QB Round 1, pick 1
2010 Sam Bradford QB Round 1, pick 1
2009 Percy Harvin WR Round 1, pick 22
2008 Matt Ryan QB Round 1, pick 1
2007 Adrian Peterson WR Round 1, pick 7
2006 Vince Young QB Round 1, pick 3
2005 Cadillac Williams RB Round 1, pick 5
2004 Ben Roethlisberger QB Round 1, pick 11

Source URL: