Wrapup: Martinsville Speedway

Updated On: October 4, 2018, 4:04 pm ET

The Martinsville Speedway hosted two of the NASCAR top series this past weekend. On Saturday, the Camping World Truck Series ran its 250-lap Alpha Energy Solutions 250 at the Virginia 0.526-mile oval. The Sprint Cup featured the 500-lap STP 500 on Sunday. The XFINITY Series returns to action on April 8 at the Texas Motor Speedway in Fort Worth. The results and upcoming scheduled events for the ARCA Racing Series and the NASCAR Home Tracks are also shown below.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (NSCS)
Time Trials:
Joey Logano (#22 Shell Pennzoil Ford Fusion) won the Coors Light Pole Award for the 67th Annual STP 500 with a lap of 97.043 mph. This is his 15th pole in 261 NSCS races. It is his first pole and fifth top-10 start in 2016 and his third pole in 15 races at Martinsville Speedway. This is Logano's third consecutive pole at Martinsville. He is the first to accomplish the feat at Martinsville since Jeff Gordon in 2003-04. Kasey Kahne (second) posted his second top-10 start of 2016 and his ninth in 25 races at Martinsville. Brian Vickers (third) posted his fourth top-10 start at Martinsville.
Did Not Qualify: None. Only 40 cars entered for the 40-car field.
Winner: Kyle Busch (#18 M&M's 75th Anniversary Toyota Camry) won the STP 500, his 35th victory in 396 NSCS races. This is his first victory and fifth top-10 finish in 2016. This is his first victory and 11th top-10 finish in 22 NSCS races at Martinsville Speedway. Busch, who won Saturday's NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race, completed the first NASCAR national series weekend sweep at Martinsville. AJ Allmendinger (second) posted his fourth top-10 finish and second runner-up finish in 16 races at Martinsville. It is his second top-10 finish in 2016. Kyle Larson (third) posted his first top-10 finish in five races at Martinsville. Pole-sitter Joey Logano led 21 laps and finished 11th.

Contingency Awards - (Start, Finish, Points):
Coors Light Pole Award: Joey Logano #22, 97.043 mph (POLE, 11th, 5th)
Duralast Brakes "Brake in the Race" Award: Joey Logano
American Ethanol Green Flag Restart Award: Kyle Busch #18 (7th, WINNER, 3rd)
Mahle Clevite Engine Builder: Toyota Racing Development (TRD) Busch's #18
Mobil 1 Driver of the Race: Kyle Busch
Sherwin-Williams Fastest Lap: Kyle Busch
Ingersoll Rand Power Move: Ryan Newman #31, 9 positions (5th, 10th, 19th)
Moog Problem Solver: Austin Dillon’s #3 crew chief Richard Labbe, 0.030 seconds (29th, 4th, 7th)
Sunoco Rookie of the Race: Ryan Blaney #21 (12th, 19th, 15th)

Standings: Kevin Harvick leads the point standings by four points over Jimmie Johnson.

Top 16 - Chase Contenders (G/L):
1. Kevin Harvick
2. Jimmie Johnson
3. Kyle Busch +2
4. Carl Edwards -1
5. Joey Logano +1
6. Brad Keselowski +3
7. Austin Dillon +3
8. Kurt Busch -1
9. Denny Hamlin -5
10. Dale Earnhardt Jr. -2
11. Martin Truex Jr.
12. AJ Allmendinger +7
13. Jamie McMurray-1
14. Matt Kenseth +1
15. Ryan Blaney +2
16. Chase Elliott

Next: Duck Commander 500, Saturday, April 9 at Texas Motor Speedway (1.5-mile quad-oval in Fort Worth)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Standings: Daniel Suarez leads the point standings by 10 points over Elliott Sadler.

Top 10 (G/L):
1. Daniel Suarez
2. Elliott Sadler
3. Justin Allgaier +1
4. Brandon Jones +1
5. Ty Dillon -2
6. Brendan Gaughan +1
7. Erik Jones -1
8. Darrell Wallace Jr. +2
9. Ryan Reed -1
10. Brennan Poole -1

Next: O'Reilly Auto Parts 300, Friday, April 8 at Texas Motor Speedway (1.5-mile quad-oval in Fort Worth)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS)
Time Trials:
Ben Rhodes won the Keystone Light 21 means 21 Pole Award for the Alpha Energy Solutions 250 with a lap of 96.322 mph. This is the #41 Alpha Energy Solutions Toyota Tundra driver's first pole in seven NCWTS. It is his second top-10 start in 2016. Sprint Cup regular Kyle Busch (second) posted his first top-10 NCWTS start of 2016 and his fifth in nine truck races at Martinsville. Johnny Sauter (third) posted his 12th top-10 start at Martinsville. It is his second in three races this season.
Did Not Qualify: #22 Austin Wayne Self; #66 Jordan Anderson; #50 Travis Kvapil; #6 Norm Benning; #78 Chris Fontaine and #14 Natalie Decker.
Winner: Sprint Cup regular Kyle Busch won the Alpha Energy Solutions 250, his 45th victory in 130 NCWTS races. This is the #18 Toyota Tundra driver's first victory and first top-10 NCWTS finish in 2016. It is his first victory and sixth top-10 finish in nine NCWTS races at Martinsville Speedway. It is also his first NASCAR national series win in 31 starts at Martinsville. John Hunter Nemechek (second) posted his second top-10 finish in six races at Martinsville. It is his second consecutive runner-up finish at Martinsville. William Byron (third) posted his first career NCWTS top-10 finish. Pole-sitter Ben Rhodes led 42 laps in the race.

Contingency Awards - (Start, Finish, Points):
Keystone Light 21 Means 21 Pole Award: Ben Rhodes #41, 96.322 mph (POLE, 16th, 10th)
Mobil 1 Driver of the Race: Kyle Busch #18 (2nd, WINNER, NE)
Mahle Clevite Engine Builder: Joe Gibbs Racing Engines - Mark Cronquist #18
Sunoco Rookie of the Race: William Byron #9 (7th, 3rd, 12th)
  NE=Not eligible for driver points in this series.

Standings: John Hunter Nemechek leads the point standings by 3 points over Parker Kligerman.

Top 10 (G/L):
1. John Hunter Nemechek +2
2. Parker Kligerman -1
3. Timothy Peters +1
4. Tyler Young +1
5. Cameron Hayley +6
6. Ryan Truex
7. Daniel Hemric -5
8. Brandon Brown -1
9. Spencer Gallagher +4
10. Ben Rhodes -2

Next: Friday, May 6, Toyota Tundra 250, Friday May 6 at Kansas Speedway (1.5-mile oval in Kansas City, KS)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards
February 13, Lucas Oil 200 at Daytona International Speedway (2.5-mile tri-oval in Daytona Beach, FL)
Winner: John Wes Townley  -   Pole: Cole Custer  -   Points Leader: John Wes Townley
Next: April 9, Nashville ARCA 200 at Fairgrounds Speedway Nashville (TN)
NASCAR Home Tracks
K&N Pro Series-East
March 26, Kevin Whitaker Chevrolet 150 at Greenville Pickens Speedway (0.5-mile oval in Easley, SC)
Winner:  Justin Haley - Pole: Kyle Benjamin -  Points Leader: Spencer Davis
Next: April 16, PittLite 125 at Bristol Motor Speedway (0.533-mile concrete oval in TN)

K&N Pro Series-West
April 2, NAPA Auto Parts 150 at Kern County Raceway Park (0.5-mile oval in Bakersfield, CA)
Winner: Todd Gilliland  - Pole: Todd Gilliland  - Points Leader: Todd Gilliland
Next: May 7, NAPA Auto Parts Wildcat 150 at Tucson Speedway (0.375-mile oval in AZ)

Pinty’s Series
2015 Pinty’s Series Champion:  Scott Steckly
2015 Sunoco Rookie of the Year: Gary Klutt
Season-opener: May 22, Clarington 200 at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (2.459-mile road course near Bowmanville, Ontario)

Whelen Modified Tour
2015 Whelen Modified Tour Champion: Doug Coby
2015 Sunoco Rookie of the Year: Chase Dowling
Season-opener: April 10, Icebreaker 150 at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park (0.625-mile oval in CT)

Whelen Southern Modified Tour
April 2, Southern Sizzler 150 at Concord Speedway (0.5-mile tri-oval in Concord, NC)
Winner: George Brunnhoelzl III - Pole: Jason Myers - Points Leader: Burt Myers
Next: April 9, South Boston 150 at South Boston Speedway (0.4-mile oval in VA)

Source URL: https://www.nbcsports.com/edge/article/wrap/wrapup-martinsville-speedway-0