Wrap-up: Michigan, Gateway

Updated On: October 4, 2018, 4:09 pm ET






/* Style Definitions */
{mso-style-name:"Table Normal";
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
font-family:"Times New Roman","serif";}

The Michigan International Speedway (Brooklyn, MI) hosted the Nationwide Series Ollie's Bargain Outlet 250 on Saturday and the Sprint Cup Quicken Loans 400 on Sunday. The Camping World Truck Series Drivin' for Linemen 200 was held at the Gateway Motorsports Park (Madison, IL) on Saturday night. The latest results on the ARCA Racing Series and the NASCAR “Home Tracks” are also shown below.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series
Time Trials:
Kevin Harvick won the Coors Light Pole Award for the Quicken Loans 400 with a lap of 35.198 seconds, 204.557 mph. Harvick's speed is the fastest pole-winning speed since April of 1987, when Bill Elliott set the all-time qualifying record of 212.809 mph at Talladega Superspeedway. This is the No. 4 Chevrolet SS driver's ninth pole in 481 NSCS races. It is his third pole and ninth top-10 start in 2014. This is Harvick's first pole in 27 races at Michigan International Speedway. He led a race-high 63 laps and finished the 200 lap event in second place.
Did Not Qualify: No. 83 Ryan Truex.
Winner:Jimmie Johnson won the Quicken Loans 400, his 69th victory in 450 NSCS races. This is the No. 48 Chevrolet SS driver's series-leading third victory and 10th top-10 finish in 2014. This is his first victory and 10th top-10 finish in 25 races at Michigan.
Contingency Awards - (Start, Finish, Points):
Coors Light Pole Award: Kevin Harvick, #4 , 204.557 mph (POLE,2,9th)
3M Lap Leader: Kevin Harvick, #4 63 Laps
American Ethanol Green Flag Restart Award: Kevin Harvick, #4
Duralast Brakes "Brake in the Race": Kevin Harvick, #4
Mahle Clevite Engine Builder of the Race: Hendrick Engines, #4
Mobil 1 Driver of the Race: Kevin Harvick, #4
Moog Problem Solver of Race: Kasey Kahne, #5 crew chief: Kenny Francis, .149 seconds (13,5,19th)
Sherwin-Williams Fastest Lap: Jamie McMurray, #1 (11,12,20th)
Sunoco Rookie of the Race: Kyle Larson, #42 (12,8,8th)

Standings: Jeff Gordon leads the point standings by 15 points over Jimmie Johnson.
Top 16 - Chase Contenders (G/L):
1. Jeff Gordon 0
2. Jimmie Johnson 2
3. Dale Earnhardt Jr. 0
4. Matt Kenseth -2
5. Brad Keselowski 0
6. Carl Edwards 1
7. Joey Logano 2
8. Kyle Larson 2
9. Kevin Harvick 3
10. Kyle Busch -4
11. Ryan Newman 0
12. Denny Hamlin -4
13. Paul Menard 4
14. Clint Bowyer 2
15. Greg Biffle -1
16. Tony Stewart 2
Outside Top 16 but has 1 win in 2014 (G/L):
26. Kurt Busch 1

Next: Toyota / SaveMart 350(k), Sunday, June 22 at Sonoma (CA) Raceway.
 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
NASCAR Nationwide Series
Time Trials: 
Sprint Cup regular (No. 18 Toyota Camry) Kyle Busch won the Coors Light Pole for the Ollie's Bargain Outlet 250 at Michigan International Speedway with a speed of 193.242 mph. This lap, in the No. 54 Toyota Camry, set a new track record for Nationwide Series qualifying at MIS. Busch never led a lap and finished the race in fourth place.
Did Not Qualify:No. 76 Tommy Joe Martins, No. 46 Matt DiBenedetto and No. 89 Morgan Shepherd.
Winner: Sprint Cup regular (No. 27 Chevrolet SS) Paul Menard won the Ollie's Bargain Outlet 250, his second victory in 184 NNS races. With the win, Menard ends a 98-start NNS winless streak, dating back to June 24, 2006 (Milwaukee). This is the No. 33 Chevrolet Camaro driver's first victory and eighth top-10 finish in nine NNS races at Michigan International Speedway.
Contingency Awards - (Start, Finish, Points):
3M Lap Leader: Kyle Larson, #42 46 Laps (4,8,NE)
Coors Light Pole Award: Kyle Busch, #54 193.242 mph (POLE,4,NE)
Mahle Clevite Engine Builder: Joe Gibbs Racing Engines, #54
Duralast Brakes "Brake in the Race": Paul Menard, #33 (5,WINNER,NE)
Mobil 1 Driver of the Race: Paul Menard, #33
Sunoco Rookie of the Race: Chase Elliott, #9 (2,6,3rd)
  NE=Not eligible for driver points in this series.

Standings: Regan Smith leads the point standings by 14 points over Elliott Sadler.
Top 10 (G/L):
1. Regan Smith 0
2. Elliott Sadler 0
3. Chase Elliott 0
4. Ty Dillon 1
5. Trevor Bayne -1
6. Brian Scott 0
7. Brendan Gaughan 0
8. Chris Buescher 1
9. James Buescher -1
10. Ryan Reed 2

Next:Gardner Denver 200, Saturday, June 21, at Road America (Elkhart Lake, WI)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
NASCAR Camping World Truck Series
Time Trials:
Cole Custer (No. 00 Chevrolet SS) won the Keystone Light 21 Means 21 Pole Award for the Inaugural Drivin' for Linemen 200 with a lap of 32.985 seconds, 136.426 mph. Custer sets a new Gateway Motorsports Park track qualifying record, besting Ted Musgrave's lap of 135.159 mph set on April 30, 2005. This is his first pole in three NCWTS races. He sets a new NASCAR national series record for youngest pole winner at 16 years, 4 months, 22 days. The previous national series record holder was Casey Atwood (NASCAR Nationwide Series - 17 years, 6 months, 18 days at Nashville Speedway on March 15, 1998). The previous NCWTS record holder was Chase Elliott (17 years, 8 months, 24 days at Bristol on August 21, 2013).
Did Not Qualify:None, only 32 trucks entered for the 36 spots.
Winner:Darrell Wallace Jr. won the Drivin' for Linemen 200, his second victory in 29 NCWTS races. This is the No. 54 Toyota Tundra driver's first victory and third top-10 finish in 2014. Wallace started 2nd and led 85 laps of the 160 lap race held at Gateway Motorsports Park.
Contingency Awards - (Start, Finish, Points):
Keystone Light 21 Means 21 Pole Award: Cole Custer, #00 136.426 mph (POLE,6,24th)
Mobil 1 Driver of the Race: Darrell Wallace Jr. #54 (2,WINNER,9th)
Mahle Clevite Engine Builder of the Race: Toyota Racing Development (TRD), #54
Sunoco Rookie of the Race: Mason Mingus, #35 (19,12,13th)

Standings:Johnny Sauter leads the point standings by 10 points over Matt Crafton.
Top 10 (G/L):
1. Johnny Sauter 1
2. Matt Crafton -1
3. Ron Hornaday Jr. 0
4. Timothy Peters 1
5. Ryan Blaney -1
6. German Quiroga 0
7. John Wes Townley 1
8. Ben Kennedy -1
9. Darrell Wallace Jr. 2
10. Jeb Burton -1

Next:UNOH 225, Thursday June 26 at Kentucky Speedway (Sparta, KY)
Other Racing Series

ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards
June 13, Corrigan Oil 200 at Michigan International Speedway (Brooklyn, MI)
Winner: Austin Theriault   -   Pole: Mason Mitchell
Points Leader: Mason Mitchell
Next: June 21, Akona 250 at Elko (MN) Speedway

NASCAR K&N Pro Series-East
June 13, Pensacola 150 at Five Flags Speedway (Pensacola, FL)
Winner: Ben Rhodes   -   Pole: Gray Gaulding
Points Leader: Ben Rhodes
Next: June 21, Visit Hampton 175 at Langley Speedway (Hampton, VA)

NASCAR K&N Pro Series-West
May 24, Armed Forces 150 at Kern County Raceway Park (Bakersfield, CA)
Winner: Greg Pursley   -      Pole: Greg Pursley
Points Leader: Greg Pursley
Next: June 21, Carneros 200 at Sonoma (CA) Raceway

NASCAR Canadian Tire Series
June 14, Budweiser 300 at Autodrome Chaudiére (Vallée-Jonction, Quebec)
Winner: Jason Hathaway   -   Pole: Steve Mathews
Points Leader: J.R. Fitzpatrick
Next: July 6, Jiffy Lube 100 at Circuit ICAR  (Mirabel, Quebec)

NASCAR Mexico Toyota Series
June 8, NMTS Mexico City at the Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez (Mexico City)
Winner: Daniel Suarez
Points Leader: Daniel Suarez
Next: July 20, NMTS Aguascalientes at the Autodromo Internacional de Aquascalientes

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour
June 6, TSI Harley-Davidson 125 at Stafford (CT) Motor Speedway
Winner: Doug Coby   -   Pole: Bobby Santos
Points Leader: Doug Coby
Next: June 21, Mr. Rooter 161 at Waterford (CT) Speedbowl

NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour
April 12, Courtyard By Marriott/Pepsi 150 at Langley Speedway (Hampton, VA)
Winner:  George Brunnhoelzl III -   Pole: Ryan Preece
Points Leader: Andy Seuss
Next: July 4, Daggett Schuler Attorneys At Law 150 at Caraway Speedway in Sophia, NC

Source URL: https://www.nbcsports.com/edge/article/wrap/wrap-michigan-gateway