Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Guerrero, Harper win Hank Aaron Awards for offense

MLB: Philadelphia Phillies at Miami Marlins

Oct 2, 2021; Miami, Florida, USA; Philadelphia Phillies right fielder Bryce Harper (3) looks on after striking out against the Miami Marlins during the first inning at loanDepot Park. Mandatory Credit: Jim Rassol-USA TODAY Sports

Jim Rassol-USA TODAY Sports

CARLSBAD, Calif. -- Toronto’s Vladimir Guerrero Jr. and Philadelphia’s Bryce Harper have won Hank Aaron Awards as the outstanding offensive performers in each league as voted by and a panel of Hall of Famers.

Guerrero tied for the major league home run lead with 48 and led the AL in OPS (1.002), slugging percentage (.601) and on-base percentage (.401).

Harper, who won in 2015 with Washington, led the major leagues in OPS (1.044) and slugging percentage (.615) and tied for first with 42 doubles.

Each team nominated one player, reporters picked seven finalists and a panel of Hall of Famers determined the winners, a group that included newcomers Chipper Jones, Pedro Martinez, John Smoltz and holdovers Johnny Bench, Craig Biggio, Ken Griffey Jr., Eddie Murray and Robin Yount.

The award began in 1999 and is named for Hall of Famer Hank Aaron, who died in January.