There was an awkward infield fly rule situation in the Padres-Phillies game
Remember in 2012 when the Wild Card game between the Braves and Cardinals was decided in part when the infield fly rule was invoked? Here’s a refresher video:
[mlbvideo id="25338293" width="600" height="336" /]
A similar situation happened in the sixth inning of the Phillies’ home opener against the Padres on Monday. The Phillies had the bases loaded with no outs when Darin Ruf stepped to the plate against lefty reliever Brad Hand. Ruf swung at the first pitch and hit a fly ball to shallow left field. Wil Myers couldn’t see where the ball was, so shortstop Alexei Ramirez ventured into the outfield to attempt to catch it. He didn’t, but he quickly picked the ball up and fired to third base where Odubel Herrera was tagged out.
The infield fly rule, however, had been invoked. Not only was Herrera out, but Ruf was out too. The play was reviewed to see if Herrera was indeed tagged out and the ruling was upheld. The only problem was that the infield fly rule never should have been called.
[mlbvideo id="584488483" width="600" height="336" /]
Also, as Phillies broadcaster Ben Davis pointed out, Herrera likely never heard third base umpire Will Little, which is why he went into third base standing instead of sliding. So not only should Little not have made the call, but since he did, he should have been very emphatic about it. The Phillies wound up scoring just the one run in the inning.
That being said, the Phillies have also not shown great base running in the early going. Herrera hit a pop-up on Friday against the Mets and the infield fly rule was correctly invoked. Cesar Hernandez, however, was caught in between first and second base, helping the Mets turn a double play.