Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Tom Gage of the Detroit News wins the J.G. Taylor Spink Award


The Baseball Writers Association of America has named Tom Gage, who has covered the Tigers for the Detroit News since 1979, as the 2014 winner of the J.G. Taylor Spink Award. He will be honored by the Baseball Hall of Fame during the induction ceremonies in Cooperstown next July.

The Spink Award is given for “meritorious contributions to baseball writing.” Winners of the Spink Award, which dates back to 1962 are honored by being included in a special permanent media exhibit at the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

The other finalists were Dan Shaughnessy of the Boston Globe and the late Furman Bisher, longtime columnist of the Atlanta Journal-Constitution.