Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Dakar 2017: Loeb, Price move into leads on Day 2


arrives at the end of stage thirteen between Villa Carlos Paz and Rosario on day fourteen of the 2016 Dakar Rally on January 16, 2016 Rio Cuarto, Argentina.

Dean Mouhtaropoulos

In Tuesday’s second stage of the 2017 Dakar Rally, Resistencia to San Miguel de Tucumán, FIA World Rally Championship legend Sebastien Loeb, in search of his first Dakar overall win, and defending Dakar bike champion Toby Price took stage wins to move into the lead of the car and bike classes.

You can see Tuesday’s stage from the Dakar at 6:30 p.m. ET on Wednesday, on NBCSN. That’s an hour later than today’s coverage of the opening stage.


Loeb, the nine-time FIA WRC champion, won four stages on his Dakar debut a year ago but ended ninth overall.

Now, the driver of the BFGoodrich Tire-shod No. 309 3008 DKR Peugeot for Team Peugeot Total took the stage win with longtime co-driver Daniel Elena by one minute, 23 seconds over stage one winner Nasser Al-Attiyah and two minutes, 18 seconds over Carlos Sainz.

This moves Loeb into the lead of the rally over the same two competitors, by 28 seconds over Al-Attiyah and one minute, 58 seconds over Sainz, respectively.


Defending bike champion Toby Price has taken his first stage win in this year’s Dakar Rally. The Australian, who rides the No. 1 450 Rally Replica KTM for the Red Bull KTM Factory Team, took the stage win by three minutes and 22 seconds over Matthias Walkner (No. 16 KTM) and three minutes and 51 seconds over Paulo Goncalves (No. 17 Honda).

The result on the day also now mirrors the bikes standings overall after two days. Price’s lead is two minutes, 39 seconds over Walkner and two minutes, 54 seconds over Goncalves.

Ricky Brabec, the American who finished third on the road and was promoted to second after a speeding violation assessed to the stage winner, was eighth on the day on his No. 9 Honda, more than five minutes behind. Juan Pedrero Garcia, who won Monday’s first stage, was 13th in his No. 12 Sherco TVS.


Other Tuesday stage winners included Martin van den Brink (Trucks, No. 506 CBH 385 Renault Trucks, Mammoet-Riwald Rallysport), and Paolo Copetti (Quads, No. 263 Raptor 700 Yamaha, MX Devisa by Berta). Mao Ruijin (UTV, No. 342 RZR Polaris, XtremePlus Polaris Racing International) had the lead in that class on the day at press time with the remainder of the top three still to finish.

Van den Brink was third in stage one in Trucks, 25 seconds behind stage winner Martin Kolomy. Marcelo Medeiros was the stage one winner in Quads, and Tim Coronel was the stage one winner in UTVs.


Here was the stage map and a couple other shots as the rally moved from stage one to stage two.



Day 1 Recap

Follow @TonyDiZinno