Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

IndyCar results and points after Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix finale at Belle Isle

Will Power's tire-management strategy leads to victory in the final Detroit Grand Prix to be held on Belle Isle, as he captures his first IndyCar Series win of the season.

IndyCar Detroit results, points: Will Power took charge of the championship race Sunday with his first victory of the 2022 NTT IndyCar Series season, winning the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix.

Power led 55 of 70 laps despite starting 16th, capitalizing on a shrew tire strategy for his No. 12 Dallara-Chevrolet. He moved atop the standings, three points ahead of Indy 500 winner Marcus Ericsson (who finished eighth).

The Team Penske became the sixth winner in seven IndyCar races this season (which also has featured seven different pole-sitters), and there’s been a new points leader after each of the past five races.

“Such a good field, like there’s no bad drivers,” Power said. “There’s no drivers that shouldn’t be there. They’re all good.

“That’s just the norm for IndyCar now. There’s no series like this in the world. Try to guess who will win the next race or who will be on pole, win the championship. You couldn’t. It’s impossible. There’s so many good guys.”

Sunday’s race was the last at Belle Isle Raceway for IndyCar, which will move to a street course in downtown Detroit next year.

Here are the IndyCar results and points standings Sunday after the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix:


Click here for the box score from the 70-lap race on the 14-turn, 2.35-mile street course at Belle Isle Raceway in Detroit. Click here for the lap leader summary and here for the pit stop performance.

Full lap chart

Best section times

Full section data

Event summary

Pit stop summary

Here is the finishing order in the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix with starting position in parentheses, driver, engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (16) Will Power, Chevrolet, 70, Running
2. (11) Alexander Rossi, Honda, 70, Running
3. (9) Scott Dixon, Honda, 70, Running
4. (1) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 70, Running
5. (5) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 70, Running
6. (18) Alex Palou, Honda, 70, Running
7. (8) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 70, Running
8. (7) Colton Herta, Honda, 70, Running
9. (3) Simon Pagenaud, Honda, 70, Running
10. (25) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 70, Running
11. (6) David Malukas, Honda, 70, Running
12. (13) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 70, Running
13. (2) Takuma Sato, Honda, 70, Running
14. (19) Christian Lundgaard, Honda, 70, Running
15. (20) Jack Harvey, Honda, 70, Running
16. (14) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 69, Contact
17. (12) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 69, Running
18. (21) Devlin DeFrancesco, Honda, 69, Running
19. (10) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 69, Running
20. (26) Dalton Kellett, Chevrolet, 69, Running
21. (17) Santino Ferrucci, Chevrolet, 68, Running
22. (22) Jimmie Johnson, Honda, 68, Running
23. (24) Tatiana Calderon, Chevrolet, 68, Running
24. (15) Kyle Kirkwood, Chevrolet, 49, Contact
25. (4) Helio Castroneves, Honda, 21, Mechanical
26. (23) Graham Rahal, Honda, 2, Contact

Winner’s average speed: 107.111 mph; Time of race: 1 hour, 32 minutes, 8.8183 seconds; Margin of victory: Under caution; Cautions: 1 for 1 lap. Lead changes: Four among four drivers. Lap leaders: Newgarden 1-13; Power, 14-24; Dixon 25; Palou 26; Power 27-70.


Click here for the points tally in Sunday’s race.

Here are the points standings after the seventh race of the season for:


Engine manufacturers


Pit stop performance

Top 10 in points: Power 255, Ericsson 252, O’Ward 243, Palou 241, Newgarden 208, Dixon 202, Rossi 181, Pagenaud 179, Rosenqvist 174, McLaughlin 173.

NEXT: The Sonsio Grand Prix at Road America will take place June 12 in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin. Broadcast coverage will begin at 12:30 p.m. ET on USA.

HOW TO WATCH INDYCAR IN 2022: Full NBC Sports schedule with dates, times, networks/streaming