Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

MotoGP grid falls to 22 bikes for 2016

MotoGP Of Malaysia - Race

KUALA LUMPUR, MALAYSIA - OCTOBER 25: The MotoGP riders start from the grid during the MotoGP race during the MotoGP Of Malaysia at Sepang Circuit on October 25, 2015 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. (Photo by Mirco Lazzari gp/Getty Images)

Getty Images

The MotoGP grid will fall from 26 bikes to 22 for the 2016 season following the departures of the Forward Racing and AB Motoracing teams, as confirmed by the publication of the provisional entry list.

In a statement issued by the FIM, motorcycle racing’s governing body, on Saturday, it was confirmed that the grid would fall by four bikes.

All of the leading factory teams will provisionally race with the same line-up once again in 2016, with the only team changes coming towards the back of the field.

Loris Baz of Forward Racing has already agreed a deal to join Avintia Racing in 2016, while Jack Miller will move from LCR Honda to join Marc VDS Racing.

Miller will take over from Scott Redding, who moves to Octo Pramac Racing as Yonny Hernandez replaces the WSBK-bound Nicky Hayden at Aspar.

As confirmed earlier this year by the FIM, the factory and open classes will merge for 2016, while Michelin becomes MotoGP’s sole tire supplier following Bridgestone’s withdrawal.

Here is the provisional entry list in full, as published by the FIM on Saturday ahead of Sunday’s 2015 season finale in Valencia.

2016 MotoGP provisional entry list

Andrea Dovizioso - #4 Ducati
Stefan Bradl - #6 Aprilia Racing Team Gresini
Hector Barbera - #8 Avintia Racing
Danilo Petrucci - #9 Octo Pramac Racing
Alex de Angelis - #15 IodaRacing
Alvaro Bautista - #19 Aprilia Racing Team Gresini
Maverick Vinales - #25 Team Suzuki Ecstar
Dani Pedrosa - #26 Repsol Honda
Andrea Iannone - #29 Ducati Racing
Cal Crutchlow - #35 LCR Honda
Bradley Smith - #38 Monster Yamaha Tech 3
Aleix Espargaro - #41 Team Suzuki Ecstar
Jack Miller - #43 Marc VDS Racing
Pol Espargaro - #44 Monster Yamaha Tech 3
Scott Redding - #45 Octo Pramac Racing
Valentino Rossi - #46 Movistar Yamaha
Eugene Laverty - #50 Aspar
Tito Rabat - #53 Marc VDS Racing
Yonny Hernandez - #68 Aspar
Loris Baz - #76 Avintia Racing
Marc Marquez - #93 Repsol Honda
Jorge Lorenzo - #99 Movistar Yamaha

Follow @LukeSmithF1