Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

MRLS Sunday: PWC Crowns Champions, MRTI Finishes Up


MONTEREY, Calif. – We’ll split off separate Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires and Pirelli World Challenge GT/GTA/GT Cup stories later, but we’ll put the rest of today’s action from Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca in one post.

The Pirelli World Challenge GTS and Touring Car (TC, TCA, TCB) classes have their races while the remaining two rungs of the Mazda Road to Indy ladder, Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires and Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda, conclude their seasons after both their titles were decided on Saturday.


Corey Fergus, Jason Wolfe and Johan Schwartz clinched the Touring Car, Touring Car A and Touring Car B-Spec titles in the 18th and final rounds of the Pirelli World Challenge TC season.

Fergus finished second to Ernie Francis Jr., his closest championship contender, in the final race of the year. Francis, in the Breathless Performance Mazda MX-5, actually won his fourth race of the year, which led Fergus by one (four-three), but Fergus’ consistency – 14 top-five finishes to Francis’ 11 – netted the series rookie the championship in the No. 00 Motorsports Promotions Porsche Cayman. Fergus finished second after Adam Poland and Vesko Kozarov collided at Turn 10, battling for second.

Wolfe clinched his second straight TCA title for Kinetic Motorsports, in the No. 36 Kia Forte Koup, during the race. The battle for the race win had featured Paul Holton and Tony Rivera, although Holton’s Compass360 Racing Honda Civic Si and Rivera’s Scion FR-S Coupe collided on the run into Turn 5, for a heavy accident. Wolfe capitalized on their demise for the win, his eighth of the year.

Schwartz had the title sealed prior to Sunday’s final race in his No. 25 Tech Sport Racing Chevrolet Sonic but did not factor into the race win. Joey Jordan took his Mazda 2 to his third win of the weekend in as many races, and fourth overall in six starts this year.


The 50-minute GTS season finale was fairly uneventful, as Michael Cooper secured his second World Challenge championship (2012, Touring Car) and first in GTS. Cooper also won the third straight title for Blackdog Speed Shop, which won the last two GTS titles with Lawson Aschenbach.

There was a two-car accident on the standing start, with Mark Wilkins’ Kia Optima stalling and then being contacted by Freddie Hunt in his Maserati GranTurismo. It prompted a yellow flag for clean-up. On the restart, Kris Wilson passed polesitter Jack Baldwin and waltzed away from there en route to his fifth win of the season, a class high, for TRG-AMR in his Aston Martin Vantage.

Baldwin was second with Andrew Aquilante third, and short of the championship. Cooper finished 10th, same as his car number of his Chevrolet Camaro Z/28.R.


Garett Grist completed a weekend sweep in the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires races, with a great start in his No. 5 Juncos Racing entry. It marks his third win of the season.

Newly crowned champion Santiago Urrutia was second, and Neil Alberico third.

More to follow…

Follow @TonyDiZinno