Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Need a racing fix? Legendary Snowball Derby is this weekend

48th snowball derby logo 2

Who says racing for the year is over?

They’re not saying that down in Pensacola, Florida, which on Sunday hosts the legendary and 48th annual Snowball Derby Super Late Model race at Five Flags Speedway.’s Matt Weaver says “the entry list for the 2015 Snowball Derby may be the most impressive lineup in the history of Super Late Model racing.”

The tentative 67-driver field will be vying for the $20,000 prize to the winner.

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver John Hunter Nemechek will return to defend last year’s Snowball Derby championship in his No. 8 McDonald’s Chevrolet for NEMCO Motorsports.

Since the first edition of the Derby in 1968, there have only been eight repeat winners of the 300-lap event.

“I would not say there’s any extra pressure,” Nemechek said in a media release. “In coming back this week to the Five Flags Speedway, I feel like winning the first Snowball Derby is harder than anything else. The way I look at it, I’m hoping the wins come easier because I know all the little things you have to do to win these races.

“I feel like we have a lot of confidence and momentum coming back to the Five Flags Speedway. Our NEMCO Motorsports Late Model program has always had good cars here, so hopefully that’s a tradition we get to continue this weekend.”

Nemechek, who recently won the 2015 Most Popular Driver in NASCAR’s Truck Series, will also look to take the checkered flag in Saturday night’s Allen Turner Hyundai Snowflake 100. Nemechek has a score to settle in that race, as he finished second in both 2013 and 2014.

Among other NASCAR and ARCA notables entered in Sunday’s main event are: Johanna Long, Harrison Burton (son of Jeff Burton), Grant Enfinger, Christopher Bell, Dalton Sargeant, Mason Mingus, Chase Elliott, Rico Abreu, Ross Kenseth, Corey LaJoie and Daniel Hemric.

The Snowball Derby will be broadcast live on on Sunday, beginning with the pre-race show at 1 pm ET. In addition, the Snowflake 100 will be televised live on Saturday at 8:30 pm ET.

Here’s the complete driver lineup for Sunday’s Snowball Derby (courtesy

 Corey Roper; Baytown, TX

 Corey LaJoie; Concord, NC

 Garrett Jones; Mooresville, NC

 Tim Martin; Amite, LA

 David Rogers; Orlando, FL

 Johanna Long; Mooresville, NC

 Logan Boyett; Pensacola, FL

 Augie Grill; Hayden, AL

 Harrison Burton; Huntersville, NC

 Spencer Davis; Dawsonville, GA

 Cassius Clark; Farmington, ME

 Christian Eckes; Middleton, NY

 Quin Houff; Sidney, VA

 Hunter Robbins; Mooresville, NC

 DJ VanderLey; Mobile, AL

 Donnie Wilson; Oklahoma City, OK

 Cole Rouse; Fort Smith, AR

 Josh Bragg; Mobile, AL

 Bubba Pollard; Senoia, GA

 Anderson Bowen; Suwanee, GA

 Caleb Adrian; Walcott, IA

 Kaz Grala; Westbrough, MA

 Jesse Dutilly; Bradenton, FL

 Kyle Grissom; Concord, NC

 Dustin Smith; Mobile, AL

 Kyle Plott; Marietta, GA

 Chad Finley; Laingsburg, MI

 Dennis Prunty; Knowles, WI

 Dennis Schoenfeld; Van Buren, AR

 Derek Thorn; Bakersfield, CA

 Allen Karnes; Sharpsburg, GA

 Brian Campbell; Wyoming, MI

 Chris Fontaine; Lakeland, FL

 Preston Peltier; Concord, NC

 Daniel Hemric; Kannapolis, NC

 Dominique Van Wieringen; Amhertsburg, Ontario

 Jerry Artuso; Sault St. Marie, ONT

 Brandon Oakley; Beavercreek, OH

 Christopher Bell; Norman, OK

 Michael Atwell; Naples, FL

 Stephen Nasse; Pinellas Park, FL

 Boris Jurkovic; Manhattan, IL

 Cole Timm; Mooresville, NC

 Dalton Sargeant; Boca Raton, FL

 Casey Roderick; Lawrenceville, GA

 Clay Jones; Goldsboro, NC

 John DeAngelis; Hubertus, WI

 Paul Shafer, Jr.; Portage, IN

 Jeremy Doss; Upper Lake, CA

 Zane Smith; Huntington Beach, CA

 Kyle Bryant; Navarre, FL

 John Hunter Nemechek; Mooresville, NC

 DJ Hoelzle; Palm Harbor, FL

 Mason Mingus; Brentwood, TN

 Scott Ellis; Forsyth, GA

 Michael Mazzagatti; Clinton, OH

 Roger Reuse; Birmingham, AL

 Chase Elliott; Dawsonville, GA

 Derek Kraus; Stratford, WI

 William Byron; Charlotte, NC

 Ty Majeski; Seymour, WI

 Quinnton Bear; Avon, IN

 Ross Kenseth; Jenison, MI

 Casey Smith; Austin, TX

 JJ Haley; Winamac, IN

 Junior Niedecken; Pensacola, FL

 Brett Holmes; Munford, AL

Follow @JerryBonkowski