Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

No. 7 Arrow SPM team wins Indy 500 Pit Stop Challenge

For the first time in 15 years, the Indy 500 Pit Stop Challenge was by a team other than Team Penske or Chip Ganassi Racing, as the No. 7 Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports team of Marcus Ericsson defeated the No. 9 CGR team of Scott Dixon in a best of three series to win the competition.

THE 103RD INDIANAPOLIS 500: Click here for how to watch, full daily schedule

The Arrow SPM crew won $50,000 for its victory in the final against Dixon’s team, which saw the No. 7 win the first and third rounds.

“It’s such a cool event,” Ericsson told NBC Sports following SPM’s first victory in the competition. “We managed to put on good runs every time. The No. 7 Arrow SPM guys just did amazing pit stops all the way through, so I’m so happy.”

“They [the team] work hard all year long, day and night, to give you a good car. They put so much into it, and a competition like today might be all fun and games but we still want to win. I’m so pleased for the guys.”

Since the inception of the Pit Stop Challenge in 1977, the winning team of the Pit Stop Challenge has gone on to win the Indy 500 six times, with the No. 3 Team Penske entry of Helio Castroneves the last to do so in 2009.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter