Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Scott McLaughlin will start on pole at Indy for iRacing Challenge finale

2020 Adelaide Superloop

ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - FEBRUARY 23: Scott McLaughlin driver of the #17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Ford Mustang celebrates on the podium after winning race two of round one of the 2020 Supercars Championship the Adelaide Superloop on February 23, 2020 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Scott McLaughlin of Team Penske will lead the 33-car field to the green today as the IndyCar iRacing Challenge concludes at Indianapolis Motor Speedway (2:30 p.m. ET, NBCSN).

McLaughlin, the two-time Supercars champion who won the second round at Barber Motorsports Park, qualified first Friday with a 228.241-mph lap on the 2.5-mile oval that bested Formula One McLaren’s Lando Norris (228.201 mph), who will start second.

NASCAR and Rallycross veteran Scott Speed qualified third. Graham Rahal was the highest-qualifying full-time IndyCar driver in fourth.

QUALIFYING: Click here to see Friday’s results

TODAY’S FINALE: All the details to watch the IndyCar iRacing Challenge at Indy

McLaughlin and Norris, who became eligible for the race by winning at Circuit of The Americas last week, have yet to make a real-life IndyCar start. Though a proficient sim racer, Norris has limited experience on ovals.

McLaughlin’s No. 40 Dallara is one of five Penske entries. Teammates Simon Pagenaud (who won the series’ previous two races on ovals) and Will Power are tied for the unofficial points lead after five races.

Three-time Indy 500 winner Helio Castroneves also has returned for the finale, and defending series champion Josef Newgarden will be driving his No. 1 Chevrolet.