Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Will Power fastest in first practice for IndyCar GP

Two-time defending IndyCar Grand Prix winner Will Power was the fastest in the first practice session for Saturday’s race on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course with a best lap of 1 minute, 9.2890 seconds.

The Team Penske driver knocked Spencer Pigot off the top spot on his final lap, leading Pigot by 0.1366 seconds.

Chip Ganassi Racing teammates Scott Dixon ( 1 minute, 9.4536 seconds) and Felix Rosenqvist (1 minute, 9.5272 seconds) finished the session third and fourth fastest, respectfully, with Penske’s Josef Newgarden (1 minute, 9.5282 seconds) rounding out the top five.

Watch the Indy 500 on May 26 on NBC

The red flag was displayed twice in the session, both for cars off track in turn 10. The first red was with 35 minutes remaining when Patricio O’Ward went off track and stalled his No. 31 Carlin Racing entry. O’Ward was assessed a 5-minute penalty by Race Control.

Helio Castroneves also went off and stalled on track, prematurely ending the session. IndyCar officials gave teams one additional lap of practice after Castroneves’ car was removed.

The next practice session for the IndyCar Grand Prix is scheduled at 12:30 p.m. ET, with live coverage available on NBC Sports GOLD.

Click here for full results from the first practice.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter