Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

4 Cup crew chiefs penalized for Martinsville violations

AUTO: OCT 27 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series - First Data 500

MARTINSVILLE, VA - OCTOBER 27: A early restart during the running of the 71st annual First Data 500 on October 27, 2019 at Martinsville Speedway in Martinsville, Va. (Photo by Jeff Robinson/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)

Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Four NASCAR Cup crew chiefs have been fined $10,000 each for lug nut violations discovered after Sunday’s playoff race at Martinsville Speedway.

Those penalized are:

* Chad Knaus, crew chief for the No. 24 Chevrolet driven by William Byron.

* Adam Stevens, crew chief for the No. 18 Toyota driven by Kyle Busch.

* Brian Pattie, crew chief for the No. 17 Ford driven by Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

* Jeremy Bullins, crew chief for the No. 12 Ford driven by Ryan Blaney.

Also penalized was Team Penske crew member Dave Nichols Jr., who was involved in the post-race scuffle between Denny Hamlin and Joey Logano and their respective teams. Nichols Jr. has been suspended from Sunday’s race at Texas Motor Speedway.

There were no other penalties issued.

Follow @JerryBonkowski