Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

William Byron chases down Matt Crafton for second Truck of rookie season

FORT WORTH -- William Byron chased down two-time champion Matt Crafton and then fended off fellow charging rookie Rico Abreu to win the Rattlesnake 400 at Texas Motor Speedway.

Bryon was able to cruise the final two laps after Abreu got into the outside wall twice after reaching Byron’s bumper.

Byron has now won twice in the last four Camping World Truck Series races after his victory at Kansas Speedway last month.

The rookie’s win ended a two-race win streak for Crafton, who had also won the last two June races at TMS.

Byron was followed by Crafton, Johnny Sauter, Ben Kennedy and Tyler Reddick. Abreu finished ninth.

MORE: Race results

HOW WILLIAM BYRON WON: After Matt Crafton’s tires wore down, Byron passed him with five laps to go and fended off a charging Rico Abreu to take his second Truck win.

WHO HAD A GOOD NIGHT: Matt Crafton blew a tire and hit the Turn 3 wall while leading on Lap 11. Crafton then charged back from 25th in 20 laps to lead a race-high 133 laps before finishing second ... Johnny Sauter started from his first pole in three years and led nine laps before finishing third, his fourth top-five finish of the season ... Ben Kennedy finish fourth after starting 15th for his first top-five result of the season ...Tyler Reddick brought out the second caution on Lap 52 after he lost a rear tire and spun exiting Turn 4. Reddick battled back to finish fifth ... German Quiroga started second in his first Truck race since 2014 and finished eighth for his 18th top 10 of his career.

WHO HAD A BAD NIGHT: Rookie Christopher Bell pulled up lame on the first lap after a bad shift caused engine problems. Bell went to the garage where he finished last. ... Spencer Gallagher lost a tire just passed Lap 30 and had to pit. He finished 27th, 14 laps down … Mike Bliss brought out a caution with 72 laps to go when he smacked the wall out of Turn 4. Bliss finished 28th … John Wes Townley spun in Turn 3 with 48 laps to go, shredding his right-side tires. Townley finished 17th, a lap down.

NOTABLE: William Byron is now the second-youngest driver to win at Texas Motor Speedway behind Chase Elliott ... Matt Crafton holds an 18-point lead over Timothy Peters in the season standings

NEXT: Speediatrics 200 at Iowa Speedway on June 18 at 8:30 p.m. ET on Fox Sports 1.