Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Breaking down Cup team win totals ahead of 2018 season

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Goody's Fast Relief 500

MARTINSVILLE, VA - OCTOBER 30: Jimmie Johnson, driver of the #48 Lowe’s Chevrolet, races Denny Hamlin, driver of the #11 FedEx Freight Toyota, during the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Goody’s Fast Relief 500 at Martinsville Speedway on October 30, 2016 in Martinsville, Virginia. (Photo by Daniel Shirey/Getty Images)

Getty Images

A new year dawns today and with it comes the prospect of another NASCAR season, including another 36 Cup points races to be held.

That’s another 36 races for the rulebook to be rewritten.

That includes win totals among Cup teams.

Of the active teams in Cup, Hendick Motorsports leads all competition with 249 wins. Trailing far behind them in second is Joe Gibbs Racing with 148 wins.

JGR would have to win every race from 2018-19 and the first 29 races in 2020 before it would even tie HMS.

Hendrick Motorsports began in 1984. Thirty-four years later, the only teams competing in Cup that have wins that were also competing in 1984 are Hendrick, Wood Brothers Racing and Richard Childress Racing.

Richard Petty owned the defunct Petty Enterprises then, a separate organization from Richard Petty Motorsports, which formed in 2009.

Here’s a look at the win totals for every active Cup team that has at least one win.

Hendrick Motorsports - 249 wins (four in 2017)

Joe Gibbs Racing - 148 wins (eight in 2017)

Roush Fenway Racing - 137 wins (two in 2017; first wins since 2014)

Richard Childress Racing - 107 wins (two in 2017; first wins since 2013)

Team Penske - 104 wins (four in 2017)

Wood Brothers Racing - 99 wins (one in 2017; first since the 2011 Daytona 500)

Stewart-Haas Racing - 39 wins (three in 2017)

Furniture Row Racing - 14 wins (eight in 2017)

Chip Ganassi Racing - 11 wins (four in 2017) (five wins came as Earnhardt Ganassi Racing from 2009-13)

Richard Petty Motorsports - Five wins (last was in 2014)

Front Row Motorsports - Two wins (last was in 2016)

JTG-Daugherty Racing - One win (in 2014)