Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Chase opening small part of big weekend for all of Chip Ganassi Racing

Rolex 24 At Daytona

DAYTONA BEACH, FL - JANUARY 25: The #02 Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates Target/Ford EcoBoost Riley driven by (l-r) Jamie McMurray, Kyle Larson, Scott Dixon and Tony Kanaan after winning The Rolex 24 at Daytona at Daytona International Speedway on January 25, 2015 in Daytona Beach, Florida. (Photo by Jerry Markland/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Chip Ganassi has his hands in a lot racing ventures.

This weekend, all of those ventures will be in action at the same time for the first and only time in 2016.

All six Ganassi teams - and all 14 of their cars - will be competing.

Ganassi teams will be competing in NASCAR, the Verizon IndyCar Series, the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship and in Red Bull Global Rally Cross.

The team came close to it back on the weekend of April 15-17, but Red Bull GRC’s season hadn’t started yet.

The most high profile race will be the Sprint Cup Series’ Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 400 at Chicagoland Speedway. The race at the 1.5-mile race track is the opening event of the Chase for the Sprint Cup. This years’ Chase is the first that Ganassi has qualified both of its cars.

Kyle Larson will be in his first Chase, and Jamie McMurray made his second Chase in as many years after not qualifying for the Chase prior to 2015. Before last season, Ganassi had only qualified for the Chase once in the first 10 years of the Chase.

Larson also will compete in the Xfinity Series race at Chicago in the No. 42, along with teammate Brennan Poole, who has already qualified for the Xfinity Chase with his No. 48 team.

Here’s a breakdown of where Ganassi teams will be driving and how their 2016 seasons are going.

- Team of 19 drivers in 14 cars across six Series in NASCAR (Sprint Cup and Xfinity), IndyCar, IMSA, WEC and GRC have won in every discipline in 2016.

- Of the six series, Chip Ganassi Racing is still championship eligible in five of them. IndyCar is the only series where it is not mathematically eligible for a title leading into the final race of the season at Sonoma Raceway.

- To date this season, CGRT has wins in all six series in which it competes, highlighted by a historic win in its first trip to the Le Mans 24 Hours in June. As a result, Ganassi is the only owner in history to win the Indianapolis 500, Daytona 500, Brickyard 400, Rolex 24 At Daytona, 12 Hours of Sebring and Le Mans 24 Hours.

- So far in 2016 there have been wins scored (10 total) in each of the six touring series in which CGRT fields cars: NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (1 - Kyle Larson), NASCAR Xfinity Series (2 - Kyle Larson and Justin Marks), Verizon IndyCar Series (2 - Scott Dixon), IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship (3 - Richard Westbrook and Ryan Briscoe), FIA World Endurance Championship (1 - Joey Hand, Dirk Müller and Sebastien Bourdais) and Red Bull Global Rallycross (1 - Steve Arpin).



NASCAR, Chicagoland Speedway

  • Sprint Cup (Chevrolet): 42-Kyle Larson, 1-Jamie McMurray
  • Xfinity (Chevrolet): 42-Kyle Larson, 48-Brennan Poole (Justin Marks not competing in the 42 this weekend)
LE MANS, FRANCE - JUNE 19: The Chip Ganassi Racing Ford GT of Sebastien Bourdais, Joey Hand and Dirk Muller drives during the Le Mans 24 Hour race at the Circuit de la Sarthe on June 19, 2016 in Le Mans, France. (Photo by Ker Robertson/Getty Images)

Sports cars, Circuit of The Americas

  • IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship (Ford GT): 66-Joey Hand/Dirk Mueller, 67-Richard Westbrook/Ryan Briscoe
  • FIA World Endurance Championship (Ford GT): 66-Olivier Pla/Stefan Muecke, 67-Andy Priaulx/Marino Franchitti/Harry Tincknell
FORT WORTH, TX - JUNE 12: Tony Kanaan of Brazil, driver of the #10 NTT Data Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet, races Scott Dixon of New Zealand, driver of the #9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet, during the Verizon IndyCar Series Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway on June 12, 2016 in Fort Worth, Texas. (Photo by Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images for Texas Motor Speedways)

IndyCar, Sonoma Raceway

  • IndyCar (Chevrolet): 8-Max Chilton, 9-Scott Dixon, 10-Tony Kanaan, 83-Charlie Kimball

Red Bull GRC, Seattle/Evergreen Speedway

  • Red Bull GRC (Ford Fiesta ST): 00-Steve Arpin, 38-Brian Deegan