Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Daytona once again will honor Congressional Medal of Honor recipients

Congress Honors Japanese-American Veterans With Congressional Gold Medal

WASHINGTON - NOVEMBER 02: The Congressional Gold Medal presented to Japanese-American veterans of the 100th Infantry Battalion, 442 Regimental Combat Team, and the Military Intelligence Service, United States Army, in recognition of dedicated service during World War II is displayed on November 2, 2011 in Washington, DC. About 19,000 veterans were awarded the honor, which is Congress’ highest civilian medal. (Photo by Brendan Hoffman/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Daytona International Speedway announced Thursday that it once again will honor several Congressional Medal of Honor recipients during the upcoming Coke Zero 400 weekend (June 30-July 2).

The track will honor Captain Florent Groberg, U.S. Army (Afghanistan); Staff Sergeant Ty Carter, U.S. Army (Afghanistan) and Command Sergeant Major Gary Littrell, U.S. Army (Vietnam).

The three recipients will be treated to a luncheon, attend driver meetings and take part in prerace festivities for the Subway Firecracker 250 and the Coke Zero 400.

This is the eighth consecutive year that DIS has honored Medal of Honor recipients. The practice originally began in the 1970s by NASCAR founder Bill France Sr.

“We are privileged to have these three Congressional Medal of Honor recipients with us this Independence Day holiday weekend,” said Daytona International Speedway President Chip Wile. “It is an honor to share their stories of courage and selflessness and have the opportunity to thank them for their service to our country.”

More information on the recipients of the Congressional Medal of Honor may be found at