Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Defending Chili Bowl champ Rico Abreu moves closer to repeating with feature win Wednesday

Chili Bowl

Rico Abreu moved a step closer to repeating as Chili Bowl champion after winning Wednesday night’s preliminary feature.

Abreu took the lead on a restart just past halfway in the 25-lap feature at River Spirit Expo Center at Tulsa’s Expo Square and led the rest of the way.

He earns a spot in Saturday night’s 55-lap feature. Also qualifying for the Chili Bowl Nationals feature was Tyler Thomas, who finished second on Wednesday, and Thomas Meseraull, who placed third. The top three in each of the four preliminary night features advance to Saturday’s main event.

Abreu’s victory came hours after a report that he’ll have a full-time ride in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series this season for ThorSport Racing. An official announcement will be made Friday.

NASCAR TIES: J.J. Yeley had a tough night. He was involved in a crash in the B Main after three laps and did not continue, placing 15th. Troubles in his heat race forced him to have to race his way from one of the two C Main races. He won that to advance to the B Main before he couldn’t avoid a spinning car and was hit from behind as well.

NOTABLE: Austin Prock, a development driver for Tony Stewart Racing, finished 12th in the second B Main to see his night end. … Five-time Chili Bowl champ Sammy Swindell raced his way from the C Main and B Main to make it to the night’s preliminary feature but was involved in a couple of incidents late that kept him from a potential top-10 finish. He placed 18th in the 24-car A Main.

NEXT: Thursday’s qualifying races feature NASCAR drivers Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Justin Allgaier and Christopher Bell in action, along with IndyCar owner Sarah Fisher.


1 - Rico Abreu

2 - Tyler Thomas

3 - Thomas Meseraull

4 - Parker Price-Miller

5 - Austin Brown

6 - Chase Stockton

7 - Blake Hahn

8 - Jake Swanson

9 - Brenden Bright

10 - Alex Sewell

11 - Daniel Adler

12 - Steve Buckwalter

13 - Alex DeCamp

14 - Josh Lakatos

15 - Daniel Robinson

16 - Gary Taylor

17 - A.J. Fike

18 - Sammy Swindell

19 - Colby Copeland

20 - Tyler Courtney

21 - Jason McDougal

22 - Payton Pierce

23 - Larry Wight

24 - Kyle Clark

Full results from all of Wednesday’s races

Follow @dustinlong