Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Denny Hamlin wins Xfinity Series pole; Kyle Busch starting at back of field

Denny Hamlin, Kasey Kahne

Denny Hamlin, Kasey Kahne


Denny Hamlin knocked Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Daniel Suarez off the pole late in qualifying for Saturday’s Xfinity race at Darlington Raceway. The race airs at 3:30 p.m. ET on NBC.

Hamlin won the pole with a lap of 171.704 mph. It’s his fourth pole in eight career starts at Darlington. He has three Xfinity wins at this 1.366-mile track. Suarez starts second after a lap of 171.178 mph. Kyle Larson (170.970 mph), Joey Logano (170.815) and Paul Menard (170.703) complete the top five.

Points leader Chris Buescher starts 10th.

Elliott Sadler will start 24th. He did not make an attempt in the second round. He had a punctured tire that could not be replaced.

Kyle Busch will start 36th. NASCAR disallowed his first time because of a blend-line violation. Busch came up the track from pit road immediately instead of doing so after the designated area. Time ran out in the opening session before Busch could attempt another fast lap. He’ll start 36th based on his time for his warm-up lap.


Follow @dustinlong