Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Josh Berry dominates Saturday Night Thunder iRacing event at Richmond

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series American Ethanol E15 225 - Qualifying

JOLIET, IL - SEPTEMBER 16: Josh Berry, driver of the #71 American Club/RaceTrac Chevrolet, stands on the grid during qualifying for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series American Ethanol E15 225 at Chicagoland Speedway on September 16, 2016 in Joliet, Illinois. (Photo by Sarah Crabill/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Josh Berry held off Ty Majeski to win the second Saturday Night Thunder iRacing event at virtual Richmond Raceway.

Berry dominated, leading 106 laps in the 125-lap race on the .750-mile D-shaped oval. Even two late-race crashes didn’t impact Berry’s path to victory lane.

“It was a good race,” said Berry, who drove the No. 88 for JR Motorsports. “I felt like I was pretty good, me and Ty were pretty close and that it would come down to whoever lost track position.

“On that one (second-to-last) restart, a couple guys took two (tires) and Ty was in the wrong lane and lost a bunch of track position and that was probably the difference for me to get away.”

While frustrated at finishing second, Majeski praised Berry for running a clean race.

“It was certainly frustrating, but overall I feel we finished where we deserved tonight,” Majeski said. “Josh was just a little bit better. We could trade off lap times, but he was much more consistent. That was the difference.”

Third through fifth were Chase Cabre, Ty Gibbs and pole sitter Landon Cassill. Sixth through 10th were Will Rodgers, Anthony Alfredo, Kaz Grala, Logan Seavey and Bayley Currey.

The race was run in Xfinity Series cars. The event was open to NASCAR Xfinity Series, Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series, NASCAR Peak Mexico Series, Pinty’s Series, Whelen Euro Series and ARCA Menards Series drivers.

The event featured three heat races that transferred six drivers each to the feature, as well as two last chance qualifying races that transferred another eight drivers to make for a 26-car field.



  1. Josh Berry
  2. Ty Majeski
  3. Chase Cabre
  4. Ty Gibbs
  5. Landon Cassill
  6. Will Rodgers
  7. Anthony Alfredo
  8. Kaz Grala
  9. Logan Seavey
  10. Bayley Currey
  11. Landon Huffman
  12. Derek Kraus
  13. Blake Koch
  14. Ruben Garcia Jr.
  15. Josh Bilicki
  16. Scott Stenzel
  17. Jeb Burton
  18. Cole Custer
  19. Michael McDowell
  20. Austin Cindric
  21. Brennan Poole
  22. Chase Briscoe
  23. Matt Mills
  24. Alex Labbe
  25. Justin Allgaier
  26. Ryan Truex

Pole winner: Landon Cassill

Heat 1 (10 laps -- top six drivers advance to main event):

  1. Landon Cassill
  2. Anthony Alfredo
  3. Chase Briscoe
  4. Kaz Grala
  5. Logan Seavey
  6. Will Rodgers
  7. Justin Allgaier
  8. Austin Cindric
  9. Jesse Iwuji
  10. JJ Yeley
  11. Brennan Poole
  12. Todd Gilliland
  13. Joey Gase
  14. Christian Eckes
  15. Michael Annett

Heat 2 (10 laps -- top six drivers advance to main event):

  1. Ty Majeski
  2. Alex Labbe
  3. Landon Huffman
  4. Cole Custer
  5. Jeb Burton
  6. Matt Mills
  7. Chad Finchum
  8. Joe Graf Jr.
  9. Scott Stenzel
  10. Harrison Burton
  11. Spencer Boyd
  12. Michael McDowell
  13. Blake Koch
  14. Drew Dollar

Heat 3 (10 laps -- top six drivers advance to main event):

  1. Josh Berry
  2. Chase Cabre
  3. Bayley Currey
  4. Ty Gibbs
  5. Derek Kraus
  6. Josh Bilicki
  7. Ryan Truex
  8. Ruben Garcia Jr.
  9. Stephen Leicht
  10. Myatt Snider
  11. Stewart Friesen
  12. Ryan Ellis
  13. Noah Gragson
  14. Angela Ruch

Last Chance qualifying race No. 1 (15 laps -- top four drivers advance to main event):

  1. Justin Allgaier,
  2. Ryan Truex
  3. Brennan Poole
  4. Michael McDowell
  5. Jesse Iwuji
  6. Harrison Burton
  7. Drew Dollar
  8. Stewart Friesen
  9. Joey Gase
  10. Joe Graf Jr.
  11. Noah Gragson
  12. Stephen Leicht

Last Chance qualifying race No. 2 (15 laps -- top four drivers advance to main event):

  1. Ruben Garcia Jr.
  2. Blake Koch
  3. Austin Cindric
  4. Scott Stenzel
  5. Chad Finchum
  6. Myatt Snider
  7. Spencer Boyd
  8. JJ Yeley
  9. Christian Eckes
  10. Todd Gilliland
  11. Ryan Ellis
  12. Angela Ruch
  13. Michael Annett

Follow @JerryBonkowski