Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Kevin Harvick to be recognized for Sprint Cup championship at White House

kevin Harvick

After winning Sunday at Dover, Kevin Harvick advances to the second round of the Chase for the Sprint Cup and hopes to repeat this picture from last year’s season finale at Homestead.


At 2:45 p.m. ET today, Kevin Harvick will be recognized by President Barack Obama at the White House for his 2014 Sprint Cup championship.

The event can be seen at the White House’s website.

Harvick will be joined by team co-owner Tony Stewart and the crew members of his No. 4 Stewart-Haas Chevrolet, which won five races in 2014 on the way to Harvick’s first career Cup title.

Harvick joins Jimmie Johnson, Stewart and Brad Keselowski as drivers who have visited the White House as champions during President’s Obama’s tenure, which began in 2009.

Before Keselowski’s visit in 2013, all members of the previous year’s Chase for the Sprint Cup would visit, but Keselowski became the first champion to visit by himself.

The ceremony to recognize Harvick coincides with the week that the Sprint Cup Series heads to Richmond International Raceway, which is 1 hour and 45 minutes south of Washington, D.C.

Harvick’s visit comes the day after Ohio State’s football team was recognized for defeating Oregon to win the first championship of the College Football Playoff era. On Thursday, the New England Patriots also will be honored for winning their fourth Super Bowl.

Follow @DanielMcFadin