Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Kurt Busch to serve as chairman of Motorsports Hall of Fame induction in Daytona

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series O'Reilly Auto Parts 500

FORT WORTH, TX - APRIL 09: Kurt Busch, driver of the #41 Monster Energy/Haas Automation Ford, greets fans during driver introductions prior to the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series O’Reilly Auto Parts 500 at Texas Motor Speedway on April 9, 2017 in Fort Worth, Texas. (Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Kurt Busch, 2017 Daytona 500 winner and 2004 NASCAR Cup champion, will serve as honorary chairman of the 29th Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) induction ceremony.

The ceremony will take place June 28 at the Shores Resort and Spa in Daytona Beach on June 28. The Hall of Fame relocated there last year after spending over 25 years headquartered in Michigan.

This will mark the second time Busch has served as honorary chairman of the MSHFA induction. He also served for the 2011 induction.

motorsports hall of fame of america logo

“I’m very thankful for the pioneers that helped pave the way to create the sport that we love and enjoy today,” Busch said in a media release. “And to have the opportunity to honor this group of inductees as Honorary Chairman is an opportunity I didn’t want to miss.”

This year’s induction class includes:

* Steve Kinser, Open Wheel Category

* Richard “Dick” Klamfoth, Motorcycles

* Terry Labonte, Stock Cars

* Paula Murphy, Drag Racing

* Scott Pruett, Sports Car

* Herb Thomas, Historic inductee

* Brock Yates, At Large

“It’s an outstanding class of inductees featuring pioneers, champions, record-breakers and innovators,” said MSHFA President Ron Watson. “And the presence of the 2017 DAYTONA 500 champion will help make this an induction for the ages.”

Follow @JerryBonkowski