Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

NASCAR changes start time for Wednesday’s Cup race

The NASCAR America crew previews the Toyota 500, who the favorites are, the difficulty of the track and if Hendrick Motorsports, led by Jimmie Johnson and Alex Bowman, can bounce back in the second Cup series race.

NASCAR has moved the start time for Wednesday’s Cup race at Darlington Raceway to 6 p.m. ET because of forecasted rain.

The race was to have started at 8 p.m. ET. The race will air on FS1.

The forecast for the start of Wednesday’s race calls for thunderstorms with a high of 72 degrees and a 90% chance of rain.

MORE: Winners and losers from Sunday’s Darlington race

Ryan Preece will start from the pole. Ty Dillon starts next to him on the front row.

Toyota 500 at Darlington Raceway

Here is the info for today’s race.

(All times are Eastern)

START: Guy Fieri will give the command to start engines at 6:14 p.m. The green flag is scheduled to wave for the Toyota 500 at 6:26 p.m.

PRERACE: Garage access health screening begins at 10 a.m. (teams are assigned specific times). Engine prime and final adjustments at 4 p.m. Drivers report to their cars at 5:50 p.m. The invocation will be given at 6:05 p.m. by car owner Joe Gibbs. The National Anthem will be performed at 6:06 p.m. by Grammy-nominated singer/songwriter Jewel.

DISTANCE: The race is 228 laps (311 miles/500k) around the 1.366-mile oval.


STAGES: Stage 1 ends on Lap 60. Stage 2 ends on Lap 125.

TV/RADIO: FS1 will televise the race. Motor Racing Network will broadcast the race and can also be heard at SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will carry MRN’s broadcast.

FORECAST: The forecast calls for thunderstorms with a high of 70 degrees and 92% chance of rain at the race’s start.

LAST RACE: Kevin Harvick dominated Sunday’s race at Darlington, leading 159 of 293 laps to record his 50th career series win. Alex Bowman finished second. Kurt Busch placed third.

LINEUP (top 20 finishers from Sunday inverted, rest start where finished): Click here for Cup starting lineup