Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

NASCAR concedes error; should have penalized Kevin Harvick’s team for uncontrolled tire

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series O'Reilly Auto Parts 500

FORT WORTH, TX - APRIL 08: Kyle Busch, driver of the #18 Interstate Batteries Toyota, drives on pit road as Kevin Harvick, driver of the #4 Busch Light Ford, pits during the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series O’Reilly Auto Parts 500 at Texas Motor Speedway on April 8, 2018 in Fort Worth, Texas. (Photo by Robert Laberge/Getty Images)

Getty Images

FORT WORTH, Texas – NASCAR admitted an officiating error during Sunday’s O’Reilly 500 at Texas Motor Speedway, conceding Kevin Harvick’s team should have been penalized for an uncontrolled tire on its last stop.

“It was a judgment call, and after conducting a postrace review of the incident an uncontrolled tire penalty for the 4 car would have been correct,” NASCAR senior vice president of competition Scott Miller said. “We missed that call.”

Harvick pitted from second on Lap 291 under green. If he had been penalized, he almost certainly wouldn’t have been able to finish second to winner Kyle Busch.

Ryan Blaney’s team was called for an uncontrolled tire violation on Lap 43.

NASCAR wasn’t able to immediately confirm which of Blaney’s tires (either the right front or the right rear) triggered the violation.

Adam Stevens, crew chief for Busch, said he hadn’t seen a replay of the noncall on Harvick’s team.

“I was really focused on what we were trying to do,” Stevens said. “But that’s something that when the situation like that happens, we will evaluate that, try to get clarification so that we know what the rules are going forward.”